Müller Anniversary Games start lists are released, with Britain’s James Ellington making a comeback after career-threatening injuries

Sifan Hassan and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce are included in the list of global greats getting ready to compete at the Müller Anniversary Games, while James Ellington will be among the British stars in action in front of a home crowd at the London Stadium on July 20-21.

The start lists for the event, which incorporates the IAAF Diamond League, have been released, with Hassan heading up the 5000m following her mile world record in Monaco and Fraser-Pryce looking to continue the fine form which has seen her clock times of 10.73 and 10.74 for 100m recently.

Hassan (pictured) will be joined by Laura Weightman, who came close to the British mile record when finishing behind Hassan in Monaco, plus Kenya’s world champion Hellen Obiri, European 10,000m champion Lonah Chemtai Salpeter and Weightman’s fellow Britons Eilish McColgan, Melissa Courtney, Charlotte Arter, Rosie Clarke, Jess Judd and Amy-Eloise Neale.

In the women’s 100m, the fields split across two heats feature double Olympic champion Fraser-Pryce along with British record-holder Dina Asher-Smith, world indoor champion Murielle Ahouré, world 200m champion Dafne Schippers and Brits Asha Philip, Daryll Neita, Rachel Miller, Imani-Lara Lansiquot and Kristal Awuah.

The men’s line-up includes Ellington as he races for the first time since August 2016 following a motorbike crash in Tenerife in January 2017 which left him with career-threatening injuries.

As reported in the July 18 edition of AW magazine, which includes an exclusive three-page interview with Ellington as well as an event-by-event preview to the Anniversary Games, the 33-year-old will make his comeback as he races in a line-up also featuring Jamaica’s 2011 world champion Yohan Blake, South Africa’s Commonwealth champion Akani Simbine and Britain’s Adam Gemili, Zharnel Hughes, CJ Ujah and European under-23 silver medallist Oliver Bromby.

Also competing in London will be Norway’s double European champion Jakob Ingebrigtsen as he races the men’s 5000m against Ethiopia’s Hagos Gebrhiwet, who is third quickest in the world this year, plus six Britons including Scottish record-holder Andrew Butchart.

The women’s long jump will see Germany’s world leader Malaika Mihambo go head-to-head with four-time world champion Brittney Reese of USA, plus Brits Shara Proctor, Lorraine Ugen and heptathlete Katarina Johnson-Thompson.

Athletes will be looking to make a statement, with the Anniversary Games taking place just 10 weeks before the IAAF World Championships in Doha.

The start lists can be found here.

Tickets for the Müller Anniversary Games are on sale at theticketfactory.com/british-athletics

» For more on the latest athletics news, athletics events coverage and athletics updates, check out the AW homepage and our social media channels on TwitterFacebook and Instagram