Olympic champion is one of 16 nominees for the six available seats on the IAAF Athletes’ Commission

Valerie Adams, Mutaz Essa Barshim and Yelena Isinbayeva are among the 16 candidates hoping to secure a spot on the IAAF Athletes’ Commission.

To have been eligible for nomination, athletes must have participated in at least one of the past two editions of the IAAF World Championships, in the most recent Olympic Games or be a competitor at this year’s World Championships.

Two-time Olympic and four-time world shot put champion Adams, Olympic bronze and world high jump silver medallist Barshim and two-time Olympic and three-time world pole vault champion Isinbayeva are joined by the likes of Ezekiel Kemboi, Fabiana Murer and Blessing Okagbare on the list of nominees. The full list can be found below.

“Athletes are a vital pillar in sports and should remain at the heart of the decision-making process in all sport governing bodies,” said Frank Fredericks, chairman of the IAAF Athletes’ Commission.

“I have seen how the Athletes’ Commission has not only acted as a voice for athletes, but helped to provide improved opportunities to athletes. It is our sincere hope that the new team builds on the foundation that has been set by the current and past members.

“I wish all the 16 candidates all the best with the election process.”

All athletes accredited for next month’s World Championships in Beijing will have the right to vote in the elections which will take place between August 23-29 in the official team hotels. The results are set to be announced before the end of the championships and the six elected members of the commission will begin their mandate on January 1, 2016.

Nominees for the IAAF Athletes’ Commission

Valerie Adams (NZL)
Mehdi Baala (FRA)
Mutaz Essa Barshim (QAT)
Nataliya Dobrynska (UKR)
Michael Frater (JAM)
Jacques Frisch (LUX)
Yelena Isinbayeva (RUS)
Vanda Juhasz (HUN)
Ezekiel Kemboi (KEN)
Fabiana Murer (BRA)
Koji Murofushi (JPN)
Blessing Okagbare (NGR)
Christian Olsson (SWE)
Aliann Pompey (GUY)
Alina Talay (BLR)
Andreas Thorkildsen (NOR)