The 10-strong IAAF shortlists also include Britain’s double Olympic champion Mo Farah and Poland’s world record-breaker Anita Wlodarczyk

The International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) has announced 20 nominees for its World Athlete of the Year awards.

Jamaica’s Usain Bolt, who completed a ‘triple triple’ of Olympic sprint gold medals in Rio this summer, and Britain’s Mo Farah, who retained both his Olympic 5000m and 10,000m titles in Brazil, are among those nominated for the men’s award.

USA’s world 100m hurdles record-breaker Kendra Harrison and Poland’s Anita Wlodarczyk, who improved her own hammer world record in Rio to claim Olympic gold, are among those in the running for the women’s honour.

The full lists of 10 male and 10 female nominees were put together by an international panel of athletics experts, comprising representatives from all six continental areas of the IAAF.

Nominees for the 2016 World Athlete of the Year awards:

Usain Bolt (JAM)
Thiago Braz da Silva (BRA)
Ashton Eaton (USA)
Mo Farah (GBR)
Eliud Kipchoge (KEN)
Conselsus Kipruto (KEN)
Omar McLeod (JAM)
David Rudisha (KEN)
Christian Taylor (USA)
Wayde van Niekerk (RSA)

Almaz Ayana (ETH)
Ruth Beitia (ESP)
Vivian Cheruiyot (KEN)
Kendra Harrison (USA)
Caterine Ibarguen (COL)
Ruth Jebet (BRN)
Sandra Perkovic (CRO)
Caster Semenya (RSA)
Elaine Thompson (JAM)
Anita Wlodarczyk (POL)

A three-way voting process will determine the finalists. The IAAF Council and the IAAF Family will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the IAAF’s social media platforms.

The IAAF Council’s vote will count for 50% of the result, while the IAAF Family’s votes and the public votes will each count for 25% of the final result.

Voting closes on November 1 after which three male and three female finalists will be announced by the IAAF, with the winners of the awards to be announced live on stage at the IAAF Awards Night in Monaco on Friday December 2.

Ashton Eaton and Genzebe Dibaba claimed the 2015 IAAF Athlete of the Year awards, though the World Athletics Gala was cancelled following revelations surrounding the IAAF and Russia.