A round-up of the action at the 40th Manchester Marathon

Steven Bayton and Kelly Crickmore won the ASICS Greater Manchester Marathon on Sunday, clocking times of 2:22:34 and 2:48:04 respectively.

After Manchester running legend Dr Ron Hill started the race, a group of 10 runners soon took the lead, with five of those still together at the halfway stage. It was a close gap between Steven Bayton of Hallamshire Harriers and Kevin Rojas of Brighton & Hove AC, but Bayton – who was competing in his first ever marathon – managed to extend the gap from mile 18 onwards and went on to take the title.

Rojas claimed second place in 2:23:03 and Salford Harrier Nathan Kilcourse came third in 2:25:08.

In the women’s race, Samantha Amend of Belgrave Harriers was in the lead until mile 22 before Crickmore of Stockport Harriers closed the gap and went on to secure victory. Runner up Amend finished in 2:52:07 and Anne Holyland of Wreake Runners took third place in 2:52:52.

AGMM 2016_Kelly Crickmore

John Smith of Tunbridge Wells Harriers claimed the ASICS Greater Manchester Marathon wheelchair race title in ahead of Mark Telford, while Mexican athlete Alicia Ibarra won the female wheel chair race.

For the first time, this year the race village was based at Emirates Old Trafford, home to Lancashire County Cricket Club, and over 9500 runners crossed the finish line on Talbot Road outside the iconic stadium. The Half/Half and 4 Leg Team Relays also took place again, giving runners the opportunity to experience the marathon atmosphere and to raise money for charity without covering the full marathon distance1

“Last Sunday saw the happening of the 40th Manchester Marathon, and we delivered our biggest event yet. Congratulations to our winners, and to everyone who took part,” commented race director Simon Hill.

“I would like to thank all the runners who chose to run the ASICS Greater Manchester Marathon this year, and to all the spectators, supporters, marshals and volunteers who cheer on the runners and contribute to the race being known as not only the flattest and fastest but also the friendliest marathon.

“Following our post-event debrief we shall be making further improvements for the 2017 race to make it better than ever and a great experience for our runners.

“A big thank you also goes to our title sponsor ASICS and all our other sponsors for their continued support, to the official charities and to all the local communities who were working with us.”

Top three results (provisional) – ASICS Greater Manchester Marathon 2016


Steven Bayton (Hallamshire Harriers) 2:22:34
Kevin Rojas (Brighton & Hove AC) 2:23:03
Nathan Kilcourse (Salford Harriers) 2:25:08


Kelly Crickmore (Stockport Harriers) 2:48:04
Samantha Amend (Belgrave Harriers) 2:52:07
Anne Holyland (Wreake Runners) 2:52:52