Irish teenager moves to second on the European under-18 1500m all-time list after her run in Germany, while Traynor clocks 28:32 for 10km

A report on the first day of the England Athletics U23 and U20 Championships, featuring a British under-20 hammer record by Jake Norris, can be found here, while a day two report is here.

Tübingen, June 16

Irish 17-year-old Sarah Healy clocked 4:09.25 for 1500m to smash the Irish under-18 record and move to second on the European all-time list for the age group.

Her time also puts her 10th on the Irish senior all-time list and is a qualifying standard for the European Championships in Berlin.

Healy achieved her time when placing 11th in a race won by Portugal’s Marta Pen Freitas in 4:06.21. Ireland’s Ciara Mageean was fourth in 4:06.70 and British steeplechaser Rosie Clarke seventh in a big PB 4:07.69.

A few days before, Healy had clocked an 800m PB of 2:06.30 at the BMC Gold Standard Races in Watford.

Also in Tübingen, Adelle Tracey achieved the European Championships 800m standard with 2:00.91, while Adam Hague cleared 5.60m for second in the pole vault.

Ashleigh Nelson won the 100m in 11.46 (0.0) ahead of Annie Tagoe.

Germany’s Richard Ringer won the 5000m in 13:22.48.

Brian Goodwin Memorial 10k, Scotland, June 15

Luke Traynor and Jenny Bannerman both ran course records for victory.

Traynor’s 28:32 moves him to third on the Scottish all-time behind Allister Hutton and Andrew Butchart, while it’s the fifth fastest road 10km by a British athlete since 2000.

Bannerman’s 35:08 beat her own course record from 2016 by 30 seconds.

Cambuslang Harriers won the men’s team prize and Bellahouston Road Runners the women’s.

European Athletics Classic Meetings, Marseille, France, June 16

France’s Jimmy Vicaut clocked 9.92 (+0.3) to win the 100m.

Charlie Da’Vall Grice won the 1500m in 3:36.48 as Jake Wightman finished third in 3:37.04. Andrew Osagie was second in the 800m in 1:45.79 and Elliot Giles fourth in 1:46.78.

Perri Shakes-Drayton was second in the 400m in 51.97, while Steph Twell was fourth in the 5000m in 15:38.68. Shelayna Oskan-Clarke was fifth in the 800m in 2:02.87.

Shara Proctor leapt 6.73m (+0.9) for third in a long jump competition won by Colombia’s Olympic triple jump champion Caterine Ibargüen with 6.87m (+0.5). Abigail Irozuru was fifth with 6.60m (+1.2) as she continues her comeback after injury, achieving a European Champs standard.

Stadtwerke Ratingen Mehrkampf-Meeting, Ratingen, Germany, June 16-17

Arthur Abele and Carolin Schäfer claimed a German double victory, scoring 8481 points in the decathlon and 6549 points in the heptathlon respectively.

World Para Athletics Grand Prix, Paris, June 16

Stephen Miller won the F32 club throw with 30.07m, while Gemma Prescott won the women’s competition with 17.75m.

Paderborn, Germany, June 16

Greg Rutherford won the long jump with a leap of 7.76m (-0.2), while Daryll Neita won the 100m in 11.23 (0.3).

Kladno, Czech Republic, June 16-17

Jessica Taylor-Jemmett was second in the heptathlon with 5590 points.

Ben Gregory was fourth in the decathlon with 7582 ahead of John Lane with 7545 points.

James Finney scored a PB 7315 points and Jack Andrew a PB 7213 .

Elliot Thompson, the 25-year-old son of British decathlon great Daley, achieved a PB score of 7191 points.

Charnwood AC Open, Loughborough, June 13

Racing with her guide Chris Clarke for the first time since the Rio 2016 Games following Clarke’s injury, double Paralympic champion Libby Clegg clocked 26.04 for 200m.

Shrewsbury Half Marathon, June 17

Paul Jones of Shrewsbury AC claimed the men’s title in a time of 74:10, 22 seconds ahead of Barry Reynolds. Thomas Vaughan of Shropshire Shufflers took third place in 74:48.

The women’s race was won by Sophie Birtles in a time of 86:16, with Sara Willhoit of Shrewsbury AC crossing the finish line in 88:57 and third place going to last year’s winner Belle Ward, who finished in 90:20.

Podium 5k road race, Barrowford, June 15

There was a course record-breaking win by AFD’s Richard Allen who clocked 14:05, while Morpeth’s Mhairi Maclennan won the women’s race in a big PB of 16:11.

The pair were racing in a new ‘sub-16:30’ race.

In the earlier ‘A’ race, Luke Turner won in 15:59, while Heather Sellars clocked 17:17 to win the women’s race.

Hendy Eastleigh 10k, June 17

John Beattie beat James Westlake to win the men’s race, 30:31 to 30:34. Jen Elkins won the women’s race in 34:55.

Okinoshima Ultramarathon, June 17

Yuki Kawauchi won the 50km event for the seventh successive year, clocking 2:52:55.

Guiyang, China, June 16

Wang Jianan equalled the Chinese long jump record with a leap of 8.47m.

» Further coverage and results in the June 21 edition of AW

» Check out our online news section and event reports for more of the latest from the world of the sport