A day-by-day look ahead to Paralympics athletics action to highlight who is competing and when

When does David Weir contest the first of his five events? On which days will Hannah Cockroft be going for gold? When will Jarryd Wallace and Jonnie Peacock be battling it out for the T44 100m title?

Here we take a day-by-day look through the Paralympics athletics schedule and highlight some of the action on offer. Times stated are local (with BST in brackets) and were correct at the time of publication.

Thursday September 8

Libby Clegg is set to contest both the 100m and 200m in her new classification – the T11 – and she begins her 100m campaign with the heats at 10.31am (2.31pm). Kadeena Cox and Sophie Hahn go in the heats of the T38 100m, which start just after midnight in the UK. Cox is set for a busy Games as she is also competing in the cycling 500m time trial and road race, while back in the athletics arena she is doing the 400m and 4x100m. Georgie Hermitage is set to contest the T37 100m heats from 7.51pm (11.51pm). Earlier in the evening are the T44 100m heats and Jonnie Peacock races at 5.45pm (9.45pm) while USA’s Jarryd Wallace takes to the track at 5.52pm (9.52pm).

Friday September 9

Stef Reid contests the T44 long jump final at 10.45am (2.45pm), while the women’s T38 100m final is at 5.42pm (9.42pm) and could feature Britain’s Kadeena Cox and Sophie Hahn. Georgie Hermitage is also set to go in the T37 100m final which takes place at 5.36pm (9.36pm). The men’s T44 100m final at 7.58pm (11.58pm) could see Jonnie Peacock versus Jarryd Wallace and Brazil’s Alan Oliveira. Irish sprinter Jason Smyth is going for his third T13 100m title at 11.09am (3.09pm), while US wheelchair racer Tatyana McFadden bids for seven golds in Brazil and the first could come in the T54 100m at 7.14pm (11.14pm).

Saturday September 10

After the heats on Friday, Hannah Cockroft will be hoping to add to her double Paralympic gold from London 2012 by retaining her T34 100m title at 6.06pm (10.06pm). She also races the 400m and 800m in Rio. Teenager Kare Adenegan joins her in contesting those three events.

cockroft_adenegan_nicholls Doha 2015 by Doha 2015 LOC Getty Images

Sunday September 11

Richard Whitehead broke his own world T42 200m record earlier this year and after the heats the day before he’ll be looking to retain his title in a final at 7.08pm (11.08pm) which could also feature his British team-mate Dave Henson. Both athletes also race the 100m in Rio. The men’s T54 5000m is at 10.15am (2.15pm) and as London 2012 champion David Weir has decided not to defend his title, Switzerland’s Marcel Hug starts as favourite. Ireland’s Michael McKillop will hope to add to his three Paralympic medals from 2008 and 2012 with another gold in the T37 1500m at 11.59am (3.59pm). After winning world gold, Jo Butterfield goes for the Paralympic F51 club throw title at 5.33pm (9.33pm) alongside team-mate Kylie Grimes.

Monday September 12

David Weir is set to race in the first of what he hopes will be five finals in Rio as after the T54 400m heats the day before, the final takes place at 10.16am (2.16pm). Aled Davies, who won discus gold four years ago but can’t defend that title as the event has been removed from the programme, goes in the F42 shot put at 10.59am (2.59pm).

Tuesday September 13

David Weir races again as he attempts to retain his T54 1500m title at 6.22pm (10.22pm). Georgie Hermitage will be hoping to add Paralympic T37 400m gold to her world title and the final is at 10.14am (2.14pm), while throwers Stephen Miller and Hollie Arnold are both in action, three-time gold medallist Miller competing in the F32 club throw at 10.03am (2.03pm) and Arnold contesting the F46 javelin at 11.25am (3.25pm). Tatyana McFadden races the T54 1500m at 6.14pm (10.14pm).

Wednesday September 14

Hannah Cockroft and Kare Adenegan will be hopeful of more finals action with the T34 400m at 5.40pm (9.40pm) and their GB team-mate Mel Nicholls will be looking to join them, while Kadeena Cox also returns to the track after cycling competition as the T38 400m final is at 11.17am (3.17pm). Maria Lyle faces fellow teenager Isis Holt of Australia, who is the world record-holder, in the T35 100m final at 10.54 (2.54pm), while Ben Rowlings and Isaac Towers are among those aiming for the T34 800m final at 5.50pm (9.50pm).

Thursday September 15

Following the heats on the 14th, the T42 100m final takes place with Britain’s Richard Whitehead and Dave Henson among those looking to compete at 6.17pm (10.17). Dutch ‘Blade Babe’ Marlou van Rhijn is set to race the T44 200m final at 5.45pm (9.45pm).

Friday September 16

Paul Blake will be among those aiming for the T36 400m final at 10.15am (2.15pm) and Dan Greaves throws in the F44 discus at 5.50pm (9.50pm), while Hannah Cockroft, Mel Nicholls and Kare Adenegan (pictured above) take on the T34 800m at 6.11pm (10.11pm).

Saturday September 17

Tatyana McFadden will be going for further success in the T54 800m where Britain’s Jade Jones, who is also entered for the 1500m and 5000m, is among her competitors at 5.48pm (9.48pm). Paul Blake will be keen to return to the track for the T36 800m at 7.19pm (11.19pm), while Germany’s Markus Rehm will be going for gold as the clear favourite in the T44 long jump final at 6.23pm (10.23pm).

Sunday September 18

The final day is for marathon action, with Britain’s David Weir, Simon Lawson and Derek Rae among those in action, Weir and Lawson contesting the T54 event at 12.31pm (4.31pm) and Rae the T46 from 9.00am (1.00pm). Tatyana McFadden targets her first Paralympic marathon title in the T54 event at 12.30pm (4.30pm).

» Check out our dedicated online Rio 2016 section for reports, news, interviews, results and more. The full ParalympicsGB athletics team can be found listed here