Laura Muir claims her first Diamond League victory with a gutsy performance in Oslo, while Genzebe Dibaba runs another fine 5000m and Greg Rutherford secures long jump win

While no world records were broken in Oslo on Thursday evening, there were a number of impressive performances which ensured the 50th anniversary edition of the Bislett Games was celebrated in style.

Having clocked 14:19.76 in Eugene recently to go fourth on the world 5000m all-time list, Genzebe Dibaba again had her elder sister Tirunesh’s 14:11.15 world record mark, which had been run in the Oslo stadium in 2008, in her sights. It wasn’t to be, though her superb 14:21.29 is the seventh quickest ever time clocked for the distance and saw her claim victory by a huge margin ahead of her fellow Ethiopian Senbere Teferi with a 14:38.57 PB. Britain’s Steph Twell finished 10th in 15:21.36.

A gutsy run paid off for Laura Muir in the 1500m. Buoyed by personal best performances over 800m and 3000m so far this season, the Scot stated her intentions from the start and never looked back, following the pacemaker and then holding on to front run her way to her first Diamond League race victory. She clocked 4:00.39 to beat a fast-finishing Faith Chepngetich Kipyegon with 4:00.94 as Dawit Seyaum ran 4:02.90 in third. World indoor and outdoor champion Abeba Aregawi was fourth in 4:03.07 as Muir’s fellow Briton Laura Weightman ran 4:04.70 in sixth.

Muir later tweeted: “First ever podium placing at a diamond league never mind a win!! So happy with my run.”

There was another dominant display in the men’s 3000m steeplechase as Commonwealth silver medallist Jairus Birech clocked 8:05.63 to secure a clear victory ahead of Conseslus Kipruto with 8:11.92 as Kenyan athletes filled the top four spots. Two-time Olympic and three-time world champion Ezekiel Kemboi was back in 10th with a time of 8:30.07.

The ExxonMobil Dream Mile was harder to call and in the end world 1500m champion Asbel Kiprop got the win in 3:51.45 from 2011 world silver medallist Silas Kiplagat with 3:51.72 as Pieter-Jan Hannes ran a Belgian record 3:51.84 in third to beat world indoor champ Ayanleh Souleiman.

A world record-breaking performance had also been anticipated in the men’s high jump with a fine field lining up in Norway. While 2.45m or even the 2.40m mark wasn’t bettered on this occasion, fresh from his 2.38m PB in Eugene it was China’s Zhang Guowei to claim victory with his 2.36m clearance as world and European champion Bohdan Bondarenko and world indoor champion Mutaz Essa Barshim were among those to find things tougher than usual. Marco Fassinotti equalled the Italian record when clearing 2.33m for the runner-up spot on countback, as Barshim placed third and Erik Kynard fourth. Bondarenko also managed a best of 2.33m for fifth as Russia’s Olympic champion Ivan Ukhov went out after three failures at 2.29m.


Christophe Lemaitre celebrated his 25th birthday with a win in the 200m. Slightly behind Anaso Jobodwana at the bend, long strides carried the Frenchman clear and he clocked 20.21 to the South African’s 20.39. Racing his first 200m in over a year and running in lane 8, world and European 60m champion Richard Kilty clocked 20.54 for third as his fellow Briton James Ellington ran 20.90 in seventh. Murielle Ahoure, who has recently clocked 10.81 for 100m, ran 11.03 to beat Veronica Campbell-Brown with 11.08 as Britain’s Asha Philip clocked 11.35 in fifth.

Fresh from running a 400m PB of 44.98 in Florida at the weekend, Steven Gardiner returned to the track to take another 0.34 off his best with 44.64 for victory. Powering away in the home straight, the Bahamian sprinter beat Britain’s European silver medallist Matt Hudson-Smith who clocked a 45.09 season’s best and world indoor champ Pavel Maslák with 45.39. European champion Martyn Rooney ran 45.46 in fourth as his fellow Briton Delano Williams clocked 46.32 in seventh.

After her fall in Rome and DQ in Birmingham, Jasmin Stowers returned to safely get through the 100m hurdles in Oslo. She did it in style, too, as the 23-year-old just pipped Brianna Rollins for the win with both athletes clocking 12.84 as American athletes filled the top five spots. Kaliese Spencer continued her Diamond League winning ways, clocking a world-leading 54.15 to beat Georganne Moline and Zuzana Hejnová in the 400m hurdles. It was Spencer’s 21st Diamond League race win. Briain’s Eilidh Child finished sixth in 55.97.

Greg Rutherford, who only on Sunday had jumped 8.35m to win in Birmingham, leapt 8.25m to claim another Diamond League victory. Michael Hartfield secured the runner-up spot with 8.04m as Aleksandr Menkov was third with 8.00m. The event had seen two Olympic champions in action as Rutherford was joined by London 2012 triple jump gold medallist Christian Taylor who finished fourth with a best of 7.93m.

Over in the women’s triple jump and world champion Caterine Ibargüen extended her winning streak to 25 competitions, her 14.68m from the fourth round enough to beat Gabriela Petrova with 14.57m and Olha Saladukha with 14.46m. Another to extend her lead in the Diamond Race standings was Christina Schwanitz as she claimed the shot put win with her first throw of 20.14m to beat Michelle Carter’s 19.20m and Brittany Smith with 18.93m.

There was a discus win for Poland’s European bronze medallist Robert Urbanek as he beat Erik Cadee of Netherlands and world silver medallist Piotr Malachowski with his third-round 63.85m throw. Israel’s Marharyta Dorozhon won the javelin with her national record of 64.56m in the second round.

Earlier on and there had been wins for Andrew Steele and Melissa Courtney in non-Diamond Race events as Steele claimed victory in the national 400m race in 46.88, while Courtney won the national 1500m in 4:17.49 ahead of fellow Briton Amy Griffiths with 4:20.15.

Eurosport_sponsor» Full results from the Bislett Games can be found here. The next Diamond League meeting takes place in New York and the action will be shown live on British Eurosport 2 from 18:00 on Saturday June 13 for fans in the UK. is the official sponsor of Eurosport’s Diamond League coverage and you can click here for future schedule information