Double world junior champion among the 32 athletes included on the GB team for Eskilstuna so far

Morgan Lake, Taylor Campbell, Ojie Edoburun and Bobby Clay are among the athletes to have been named in the first wave of GB team selections for the European Junior Championships in Eskilstuna, Sweden on July 16-19.

A total of 32 athletes have been included on the team so far, with a 22-strong team also having been announced for the Mannheim Bauhaus Juniorengala in Germany this weekend (June 27-28).

Double world junior champion Lake leads the European junior high jump standings following her 1.94m clearance at the England Athletics event in Bedford on Sunday and will look to continue her winning ways after her gold medal-winning performances in Eugene last summer.

Sprinter Edoburun and middle-distance runner Clay also lead the European Junior rankings for their respective events – the 100m and 1500m – and will be joined in Sweden by fellow European No.1 Shannon Hylton.

Hylton won the 200m in Bedford in 23.53 (+2.7). Her twin sister Cheriece, who won the 400m title in a 53.54 PB, also features on the team. Campbell is another in-form athlete, the thrower having extended his British junior hammer record to 78.74m on Saturday.

“We have had some fantastic performances over the last few months and collectively as a team we are heading to Sweden in really good shape,” said GB & NI team leader Jo Summers.

“We saw that despite challenging conditions at times in Bedford, the athletes as a whole were able to show the sort of maturity that will hopefully put them into medal contention in a few weeks’ time. Mannheim is a key competition ahead of the trip to Eskilstuna and will give the athletes a chance to complete their preparations before flying out to the European Juniors.”

The second wave of GB European Junior Championships selections is due to be announced on July 7.

GB & NI team for the European Junior Championships (first wave of selections)

100m: Ojie Edoburun, Joseph Dewar
200m: Elliot Powell
800m: Kyle Langford
1500m: Josh Kerr, Liam Dee
5000m: Alex George, Gus Cockle
10,000m: Jack Rowe
10,000m race walk: Callum Wilkinson
110m hurdles: Jack Hatton
3000m steeplechase: Jack Jibb
Long jump: Jacob Fincham-Dukes
Triple jump: Montel Nevers
Hammer: Taylor Campbell
Javelin: Harry Hughes
Pole vault: Harry Coppell, Charlie Myers
Decathlon: Tim Duckworth

100m: Daryll Neita
200m: Shannon Hylton, Charlotte McLennaghan
400m: Cheriece Hylton
800m: Molly Long
1500m: Bobby Clay, Amy Griffiths
5000m: Grace Baker, Bronwen Owen
10,000m race walk: Emma Achurch
High jump: Morgan Lake
Shot put: Adele Nicoll
Discus: Amy Holder

GB & NI team for the Mannheim Bauhaus Juniorengala

100m: Reuben Arthur, Joseph Dewar
200m: Elliot Powell, Freddie Owsley
Triple jump: Montel Nevers
Pole vault: Harry Coppell, Adam Hague, Charlie Myers
Hammer: Taylor Campbell
110m hurdles: Jack Hatton, Jack Kirby
400m hurdles: Jack Lawrie
4x100m relay: Reuben Arthur, Joseph Dewar, Ojie Edoburun, Theo Etienne, Freddie Owsley, Elliot Powell

200m: Shannon Hylton, Charlotte McLennaghan
400m: Cheriece Hylton, Lina Nielsen
Discus: Amy Holder
4x100m relay: Shannon Hylton, Imani Lansiquot, Shannon Malone, Charlotte McLennahan, Daryll Neita