The double Olympic champion is on the shortlist for men’s athlete of the year, while Dina Asher-Smith and Matthew Hudson-Smith are among nominees for rising star awards

Twelve athletes remain in the running for European Athletics Golden Tracks awards after the governing body named shortlists of three athletes in each of the four categories.

Britain’s double Olympic champion Mo Farah, Italy’s world indoor high jump gold medallist Gianmarco Tamberi and Germany’s Olympic javelin champion Thomas Röhler are the nominees for the men’s athlete of the year honour, while the shortlist for the woman’s title includes Spain’s Olympic gold, European gold and world indoor silver high jump medallist Ruth Beitia, Greek Olympic and European pole vault champion Ekaterini Stefanidi and Poland’s world record-breaking Olympic and European hammer gold medallist Anita Wlodarczyk.

British record-holder Dina Asher-Smith, Croatian javelin thrower Sara Kolak and Belgium’s Olympic heptathlon champion Nafissatou Thiam are nominated for the women’s rising star award, while Germany’s European long jump champion Max Hess, Britain’s Olympic 400m finalist Matthew Hudson-Smith and Norwegian 400m hurdler Karsten Warholm are the men’s award nominees.

European Athletics will announce the winner in each category at an awards ceremony in Portugal on October 15. The winning athletes will be decided by counting votes from fans, the media, European Athletics Member Federations and an expert European Athletics panel, with the results from each group of voters counting for one quarter of the athlete’s final score.

Britain’s world and European long jump champion Greg Rutherford won last year’s men’s athlete of the year award, while the women’s award went to Dutch heptathlete turned sprinter Dafne Schippers.