Double Olympic champion among six athletes on shortlist for IAAF honours

Mo Farah is among the six athletes who remain in the running for IAAF World Athlete of the Year awards after the world governing body revealed its two shortlists.

As well as Britain’s four-time Olympic gold medallist Farah, the finalists for the men’s award are Jamaican sprint star Usain Bolt and South Africa’s world 400m record-breaker and Olympic champion Wayde van Niekerk.

Those up for the women’s honour are Ethiopia’s world 10,000m record-breaker and Olympic gold medallist Almaz Ayana, Jamaica’s double Olympic sprint champion Elaine Thompson and Poland’s Anita Wlodarczyk, who improved her own hammer world record in Rio to claim Olympic gold.

The finalists were determined by a three-way voting process. The IAAF Council’s vote counted for 50% of the result, while the IAAF Family’s vote counted for 25% and a public vote, conducted via social media, made 25% of the final result.

The winners of the awards are set to be announced live on stage at the IAAF Awards Night in Monaco on Friday December 2.

Ashton Eaton and Genzebe Dibaba claimed the 2015 IAAF Athlete of the Year awards, though the World Athletics Gala was cancelled following revelations surrounding the IAAF and Russia.