British 1500m record-holder receives honour at awards dinner in Glasgow

Laura Muir has been named as Scottish athlete of the year for the second consecutive year, while her coach, Andy Young, has again been voted Scotland’s performance coach of the year.

Muir has broken the British 1500m record twice in 2016, while she also won the overall Diamond Race and finished seventh at her first Olympics.

The 23-year-old had headed an eight-strong shortlist which also included Rio Olympic relay medallist Eilidh Doyle, Scottish record-breakers Andy Butchart, Lynsey Sharp and Callum Hawkins, European medallist Steph Twell, Olympic 5000m finalist Eilish McColgan and GB hill runner Andy Douglas.

Olympian Derek Redmond, who was guest of honour at the awards dinner in Glasgow on Saturday night, made the presentation at the sold-out celebration.

“I am thrilled and delighted to again be named Scottish athlete of the year,” Muir told Scottish Athletics.

“There was so much competition for this title and that’s obvious from the length of the shortlist. People have been breaking records, picking up medals and reaching finals at global events.

“It is exciting for everyone that Scottish athletes are doing so well in so many different areas of the sport and I think there is a real team spirit there which is pushing everyone on.”

Rodger Harkins, Scottish Athletics director of coaching, said: “Many congratulations to Laura Muir on her award as athlete of the year.

“We said prior to the announcement that it was a really special year and that was why we felt we had to have a lengthy shortlist of contenders – to acknowledge many really superb performances.

“It almost became breaking a Scottish record or reaching an Olympic final was required to even be in contention.

“For athletics in Scotland, that’s a massive plus and a big step forward from where we were maybe five or 10 years ago. For those on the panel choosing the winner it was pretty hard choices, however!”

Award winners in 2016

Athlete of the year: Laura Muir
Para-athlete: Libby Clegg
Masters athlete: Kerry-Liam Wilson
U20 athlete: Cameron Tindle
U17 athlete: Erin Wallace
Eddie Campbell medal: Euan Gillham
Performance coach: Andy Young
Development coach: Dudley Walker (Giffnock North AAC)
Club coach: Donald Pegrum and Archie McBride (Cumbernauld AAC)
Impact club: Shetland AAC
Track and field club: Edinburgh AC
Off track club: Central AC
Official of the year: Brian Brown
Raymond Hutcheson Trophy for services to officiating: Ann Carter
Volunteer of the year: Hugh Rankin (Kilmarnock Harriers)
Honorary life membership: Vic Hockley, Bill Walker
Tom Stillie Sword: Janet Nixon
Dallas Trust Trophy: Andy Butchart