European champion joined by Renaud Lavillenie, Valerie Adams, Genzebe Dibaba and Tatyana McFadden in being shortlisted for prestigious awards

Jo Pavey is among the athletics stars nominated for the 2015 Laureus World Sports Awards.

The European champion has been shortlisted in the Comeback of the Year category after winning her 10,000m gold in Zurich just ten months after giving birth to her second child.

Following news of her nomination, Pavey tweeted: “Very surprised & honoured to be nominated for the @LaureusSport World Comeback of the Year.”

Renaud Lavillenie has been nominated for the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year Award, the Frenchman having broken Sergey Bubka’s 21-year-old pole vault world record in Donetsk last February, while his fellow IAAF World Athlete of the Year Valerie Adams has been shortlisted for the Sportswoman of the Year Award after the New Zealand shot putter extended her unbeaten streak to 56 competitions in 2014.

Ethiopia’s Genzebe Dibaba, who set three world indoor records in just 15 days in February over 1500m, 2 miles and 3000m, is also nominated for the Sportswoman of the Year honour, while American wheelchair racer Tatyana McFadden has again been shortlisted for the Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability Award after winning the Boston, Chicago, London and New York marathons.

The winners, as voted by the Laureus World Sports Academy which comprises 48 sports greats, will be unveiled at a globally televised ceremony at the Grand Theatre, Shanghai, on April 15.

Double Olympic gold medallist Edwin Moses, who is chairman of the Laureus World Sports Academy, said: “This is going to be yet another classic year. Each year we think the list of nominees cannot get better, but then it does.

“The Sportsman of the Year and Team of the Year categories look amazing. You could make a case for every nominee to be the winner. And I think the Disability category is probably the strongest list of athletes I have ever seen over the 16 years of Laureus.

“It’s going to an exciting night in Shanghai discovering which of these great athletes will receive Laureus Awards.”

Jessica Ennis-Hill and Usain Bolt were crowned Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Year respectively at the 2013 awards, when Seb Coe received the Laureus Lifetime Achievement Award. Other former winners of Laureus awards include Kelly Holmes and Paula Radcliffe.