A round-up of the cross-country action in Dublin

Ireland made the most of the home advantage at the British and Irish Masters Cross Country International to have one of their most successful championships on a wet and windy day in Dublin.

They won two of the main three individual races and also picked up plenty of team titles, though the team results weren’t available immediately after the race.

The women’s race started proceedings and there was an easy win for Ireland’s Ann Marie McGlynn. She had run for Ireland’s senior team in the European championships and was making her debut in the event and she won W35 gold.

Second place went to four-time overall winner Claire Martin, who did at least win the W40 title for her sixth successive gold medal.

Third place was taken by World 800m and 1500m champion Louise Rudd, who last year won W35 gold but here took W40 silver.

Two other world master champions also won easily to retain their titles. Clare Elms comfortably beat Scottish rival Fiona Matheson, who has twice won this title previously. Angela Copson won her fourth successive W65 crown and eighth title in all to defeat world masters 800m champion Ros Tabor, who finished second for England.

Dot Fellows won the W70 title but Ireland won the W60 gold through Carmel Parnell who won a record tenth women’s title.

The race incorporated the older men’s event and that saw a win for Ireland’s Martin McEvilly, who regained his title from Northern Ireland’s Terry Eakin, who this time was fourth. Peter Giles won the M70 race from England team-mate Martin Ford who thus narrowly missed out on his third successive title and his seventh gold overall.

The second race was the M50 to M60 race and Ireland won all three individual titles.

Pauric McKinney won the most exciting race of the day by sprinting past four-time M45 champion Austin Davies of Wales, who had led for most of the race.

McKinney took M50 gold while the M55 title went to former M50 champion Tommy Payne.

The M60 gold medal went to world 1500m record-holder Brian Lynch, who led an Irish one-two-three and overwhelming team victory.

The final race did see an overall England victory as Chris Greenwood won his third successive M40 title but first overall victory.
Third placer overall was the M35 champion Michael Harty of Ireland.

The M45 race went to England as former overall winner Tim Hartley won his third successive title. He passed Ireland’s Peter Thompson, who had won the overall race himself last time it was held in Dublin in 2010, in the second half of the race.

» A full report including details of all the team events plus photographs and results will appear in the next edition of Athletics Weekly magazine