Justice Catherine O’Regan and Singaporean lawyer Annabel Pennefather form part of the world governing body’s now nine-strong Ethics Commission

The IAAF Ethics Commission has announced the appointment of two new members, Justice Catherine O’Regan and Annabel Pennefather.

This takes the number of members of the Ethics Commission, which is chaired by Michael Beloff QC, to nine.

O’Regan is a former judge of the Constitutional Court of South Africa and has served since 2010 as an ad hoc judge of the Supreme Court of Namibia. She is currently acting as the president of the International Monetary Fund Administrative Tribunal and as a member of the World Bank Sanctions Board. Between 2008 and 2012 O’Regan was the chairperson of the United Nations Internal Justice Council and between 2012 and 2014 she was the chairperson of the Commission of Inquiry into allegations of inefficiency in the South African Police Service in Khayelitsha, Western Cape, South Africa. She is also a member of the Board of Corruption Watch, South Africa.

Pennefather is a Singaporean lawyer with substantial experience in sports law and governance. She is currently a vice president of the Singapore National Olympic Council, deputy president of the International Hockey Federation’s Judicial Commission and a member of the Olympic Council of Asia’s Sports for All Committee. Pennefather has served as chef de mission for Singapore’s contingents at a number of major multi-sport Games such as the Manchester Commonwealth Games in 2002, the Athens Olympic Games in 2004, the Doha Asian Games in 2006, the New Delhi Commonwealth Games in 2010 and the Myanmar SEA Games in 2013.

“The Ethics Commission welcomes these strong additions to its number at a time when the sport of athletics is facing particular challenges and in the light of the Ethics Commission’s important current and prospective work,” read a statement.

The announcement comes the day after IAAF president Seb Coe released details of a “road map” for athletics “to restore trust and deliver a vision for attracting more young people”.

A full list of the current members of the IAAF Ethics Commission can be found here.