Trio among 17 British athletes set to compete in Marrakech as Americas, Africa and Asia-Pacific teams are also named

The four teams for the IAAF Continental Cup have been named, with 17 British athletes set to be among those competing for the Europe team in Marrakech, Morocco on September 13-14.

European champion James Dasaolu will line up alongside Christophe Lemaitre in the men’s 100m, the Frenchman also doubling up to take on the 200m. His compatriot Myriam Soumare and dutch heptathlete Dafne Schippers are also doubling up to race both sprint events, while Mike Rodgers (Americas), Richard Thompson (Americas), Melissa Breen (Asia-Pacific) and Veronica Campbell-Brown (Americas) are also among those in sprints action.

The British quartet that combined to break the national 4x100m record in Zurich at the end of August – Asha Philip, Ashleigh Nelson, Anyika Onuora and Desiree Henry – will come together once again, while an all-British team featuring James Ellington, Richard Kilty, Harry Aikines-Aryeetey and Danny Talbot will also contest the men’s event.

A men’s team of Nesta Carter, Kim Collins, Rodgers and Thompson is set to run the 4x100m for the Americas, while the women’s squad includes Michelle-Lee Ahye, Joanna Atkins, Tianna Bartoletta, Campbell-Brown and Samantha Henry-Robinson.

Britain’s Martyn Rooney goes in the 400m, Lynsey Sharp the 800m, Jo Pavey in the 5000m, Will Sharman and Tiffany Porter in the sprint hurdles, Eilidh Child in the 400m hurdles, Greg Rutherford in the long jump, while Conrad Williams joins Rooney, Jakub Krzewina and Donald Sanford on the 4x400m team.

Bohdan Bondarenko (high jump), Sandra Perkovic (discus), Mahiedine Mekhissi-Benabbad (1500m), Renaud Lavillenie (pole vault), Anita Wlodarczyk (hammer) and David Storl (shot put) are also among those on the Europe team.

Other notable inclusions across the teams include Mohammed Aman and Nijel Amos (800m), Genzebe Dibaba (3000m), Ayanleh Souleiman and Asbel Kiprop (1500m), Julius Yego and Ihab Abdelrahman (javelin), Eunice Sum (800m) and Hellen Obiri (1500m) on the Africa team; LaShawn Merritt (400m), Bernard Lagat (3000m), Emma Coburn (3000m steeplechase), Will Claye (long jump), Fabiana Murer and Jenn Suhr (pole vault), Dawn Harper-Nelson (100m hurdles) and Caterine Ibarguen (triple jump) on the Americas team and Mutaz Essa Barshim (high jump), Valerie Adams and Gong Lijiao (shot put), Li Jinzhe (long jump) and Kim Mickle (javelin) on the Asia-Pacific team.

For more in-depth team lists click the below links:

Further details on team selection and scoring can be found here.