Paralympic champions form part of 56-strong GB & NI team for IPC European Championships in Swansea

A total of 56 athletes have been named on the Great Britain & Northern Ireland team for the IPC European Championships to be held in Swansea from August 18-23.

Six-time Paralympic gold medalist David Weir will compete for GB for the first time since winning four gold medals at London 2012, while Richard Whitehead – the reigning T42 200m Paralympic and world champion – heads to Wales looking to retain the track title he won in Stadskanaal two years ago.

Hannah Cockroft, Aled Davies, Stef Reid and Jonnie Peacock are among the other global champions and world record-holders included in the team, while 14-year-old Maria Lyle, who has broken the T35 100m and 200m world record this year, is one of 15 athletes who will make their GB senior team debuts in Swansea.

“The IPC Athletics European Championships in Swansea is vitally important in the development of the team over the course of the next few years,” commented Paralympic head coach Paula Dunn.

“There are a number of familiar faces once again in the team, but also what is encouraging is the emerging talent breaking into the ranks, which puts us in a really strong position moving forwards.

“It’s another home championships for the team and it will be great to get the support of not only the local Welsh community, but also the rest of the British public coming from further afield.

“We saw how much a home crowd spurred on the athletes in London and it would be great to give the team another rapturous welcome in South Wales.”

GB & NI team for the IPC European Championships

Ola Abidogun – T47 100m, 200m
Jonathan Adams – T37 shot put
Hollie Arnold – F46 javelin
Joshua Bain – F37 javelin
Graeme Ballard – T36 100m, 200m, 400m
Paul Blake – T36 100m, 400m
Olivia Breen – T38 100m, long jump
Jonathan Broom-Edwards – F44 high jump
Sally Brown – T47 100m, 400m
Mickey Bushell – T53 100m, 200m
Joanna Butterfield – F51 club throw, discus
Libby Clegg – T12 100m, 200m
Hannah Cockroft – T34 100m, 800m
Aled Davies – F42 shot put, discus
Kyron Duke – F41 shot put, javelin
Dan Greaves – F44 discus
Thomas Green – F32 club throw
Sophie Hahn – T38 100m, 400m
Maria Hawkeswood – F56 javelin
Jordan Howe – T35 100m, 200m
Abi Hunnisett – F32 club throw
Jade Jones – T54 800m, 1500m, 5000m
Moatez Jomni – T53 400m, 800m
Beverley Jones – F37 discus, shot put
Rhys Jones – T37 100m, 200m
Sophie Kamlish – T44 100m, 200m
Sammi Kinghorn – T53 100m, 400m,
Maria Lyle – T35 100m, 200m
Erin McBride – T13 100m, 400m
Jenny McLoughlin – T37 100m, 200m
Dean Miller – T37 1500m
Stephen Miller – F32 club throw
Dzaier Neil – F52 discus
Holly Neill – F41 discus, shot put
Mel Nicholls – T34 100m, 800m
Danny Nobbs – F54 javelin
Georgina Oliver – T54 100m, 400m
Stephen Osborne – T51 100m, 400m
Jonnie Peacock – T44 100m
Josie Pearson – F51 club throw, discus
Gemma Prescott – F32 club throw
Stef Reid – F44 long jump, 100m
Ben Rowlings – T34 100m, 400m, 800m
Sam Ruddock – T35 shot put
Ben Rushgrove – T36 100m
Rob Smith – T52 100m, 400m, 1500m
Nathan Stephens – F57 javelin, discus
Laura Sugar – T44 100m, 200m, long jump
Isaac Towers – T34 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m
Kieran Tschierniawsky – F33 discus, shot put
David Weir – T54 400m, 800m, 1500m, 5000m
Richard Whitehead – T42 200m
Bradley Wigley – T38 100m & 200m
Rob Womack – F55 shot put, discus
Shelly Woods – T54 800m, 1500m, 5000m
Bethany Woodward – T37 100m, 400m

» The GB team is sponsored by Sainsbury’s. For further details and to buy tickets, see