World and Paralympic champions Hannah Cockroft and Richard Whitehead are in the 53-strong squad for the event in Berlin

A 53-strong British team has been announced for the World Para Athletics European Championships to be held in Berlin from August 20-26.

Almost a year on from a successful World Para Athletics Championships on home soil, 15 medallists from London have been selected to compete in Germany including seven who won gold.

Hollie Arnold, Olivia Breen, Hannah Cockroft, Aled Davies, Sophie Hahn, Stef Reid and Richard Whitehead all return to the British team for the continental showpiece as world champions.

Arnold, Breen and Hahn are also three of five athletes named to have reached the podium at the Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast back in April, taking gold in the F46 javelin, T38 long jump and T38 100m respectively, while the British trio are also among 18 of the 52 athletes selected to have won medals at the last European Championships in Italy in 2016. The medal haul of 56 at the last edition was a record for the British team at the event.

After a season that has so far seen him set a world record – since beaten – in the T54 800m, and also set personal bests over all distances from 100m up to 800m, Richard Chiassaro will be hoping for further European success after winning four medals at the previous edition of these championships.

In addition to the experienced members of the team, 17 athletes have been handed their major senior international debuts for Britain. Chief among them is 16-year-old Eve Walsh Dann, who claimed world junior gold in the T35-38 100m and 200m last summer. Luke Nuttall also makes the step up from that team having won silver in the T46 1500m in Nottwil.

Four race runners are selected to represent Britain for the first time ever at the European Championships while Sally Brown earns her first British vest since the London 2012 Paralympic Games six years ago.

British Athletics has also accepted World Para Athletics’ invitation for Libby Clegg to compete in the T11 100m and 200m alongside guide runner Tom Somers after injury has ruled Chris Clarke out for the rest of the season.

Paula Dunn, head coach at British Athletics, said: “I am delighted to announce the 52 athletes selected to compete for Great Britain & Northern Ireland at the World Para Athletics European Championships in Berlin in August. We have a great tradition of winning medals at a continental level and I am looking forward to watching how our experienced athletes and those making their debuts perform.

“After a three-year period involving two World Championships, a Europeans and a Paralympic Games, it was always the intention for a handful of athletes to rest and recuperate in 2018. We have a great mixture of athletes going to Berlin who have reached the very top of the sport and those beginning their journey and I’ve no doubt they will learn a lot from each other in Berlin.”

British team

Kare Adenegan – T34 100m & 800m
Hollie Arnold – F46 Javelin
James Arnott – T47 100m, 200m
Graeme Ballard – T36 100m & 200m
Martina Barber – T20 Long Jump
Olivia Breen – T38 100m
Sally Brown – T47 100m, 200m & 400m
Jo Butterfield – F51 Club Throw
Richard Chiassaro – T54 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m & 1500m
Libby Clegg [guide runner: Tom Somers] – T11 100m and 200m
Hannah Cockroft – T34 100m & 800m
Aled Davies – F63 Shot Put & Discus
David Devine – T13 1500m & 5000m
Hannah Dines – RR3 100m
Gavin Drysdale – RR3 100m
Sabrina Fortune – F20 Shot Put
Dan Greaves –  F64 Discus
Kylie Grimes – F51 Club Throw
Kayleigh Haggo – RR3 100M
Sophie Hahn – T38 100m, 200m & 4x100m mixed relay
Callum Hall – T53 100m, 400m & 800m
David Henson – T61 200m
Jordan Howe – T35 100m & 200m
Harri Jenkins – T33 100m
Mo Jomni – T53 100m, 200m & 400m
Rhys Jones – T37 100m & 200m
Kyle Keyworth – T35 100m & 200m
Dillon Labrooy – T54 400m, 800m & 1500m
Maria Lyle – T35 100m & 200m
Nathan Maguire – T54 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m & 4x100m mixed relay
Polly Maton – T47 Long Jump, 100m & 4x100m mixed relay
Stephen Miller – F32 Club Throw
Steve Morris – T20 800m &1500m
Taz Nicholls – F64 Discus
Luke Nuttall – T46 1500m
Stephen Osborne – T51 100m, 200m
Javaughan Parkes – T36 100m & 200m
Ross Paterson – T38 200m & 400m
Stef Reid – T64 Long Jump and 200m
Ben Rowlings – T34 100m, 400m & 800m
Amir Sarvestani – T11 Long Jump
Zac Shaw – T12 100m & 200m
Luke Sinnott – T63 200m & Long Jump
Zak Skinner – T13 100m, Long Jump & 4x100m mixed relay
Ali Smith – T38 100m, 200m, 400m & Long Jump
Rafi Solaiman – RR3 100m
Laura Sugar – T44 100m & 200m
Isaac Towers – T34 400m & 800m
Vanessa Wallace – F34 Shot Put & Javelin
Eve Walsh Dann – T36 100m & 200m
Shaun White – T33 100m
Richard Whitehead – T61 200m
Thomas Young – T38 100m & 200m

» This post was updated on July 13 following the addition of Libby Clegg to the team