A round-up of the latest news from the world of athletics, including 2015 rankings from All-Athletics.com and results from the first international half-marathon of the year

Justin Gatlin and Genzebe Dibaba lead

US sprinter Justin Gatlin and Ethiopian runner Genzebe Dibaba are the overall ranking leaders by All-Athletics.com at the end of 2015.

Gatlin has 1487 points over Usain Bolt’s 1459 and Christian Taylor’s 1453. Another triple jumper, Pedro Pablo Pichardo, is fourth with 1440 points and pole vaulter Renaud Lavillenie fifth with 1435. For the sixth position is a tie between Joe Kovacs and Wayde van Niekerk, both with 1431 points. The top ten is completed by Shawn Barber with 1419, Sergey Shubenkov with 1411 and Kirani James with 1410.

Dibaba has a 14-point lead over Dafne Schippers, 1461 to 1447, while there is a third position for Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce with 1432 points. Fourth is Almaz Ayana with 1422 and there is a tie for fifth between Sandra Perkovic and Allyson Felix with 1411. Zuzana Hejnova is seventh with 1399 points, eighth is Tianna Bartoletta with 1393, ninth Caterine Ibarguen with 1390 and 10th is Anita Wlodarczyk with 1388.

The All-Athletics.com ranking system is based on exact scoring of results and competition level.

First fast half-marathon of the year

The first international half-marathon of the year was the sixth edition of the Adana Half.

Kenyan Barselius Kipyego won in 60:46, a personal best that beats the 60:59 he recorded in Usti nad Labem last year. There were also other positions on the podium in Turkey for Kenyan athletes. Paul Kipkorir clocked 60:57 and Stephen Arita 61:15. In fourth was Moroccan Youssef Nasir with 62:40, with his team-mate Chakir Boujattaoui also 62:40 as fifth. The best Turkish athlete was Mehmet Caglayan in seventh in 65:48.

Ababel Yeshaneh of Ethiopia, who participated at the World Championships 10,000m in Moscow, was the best woman in 69:36. Second was Kenya’s Beijing world marathon participant Visiline Jepkesho with a 69:43 PB and third Lucy Cheruiyot with a 72:23 PB. Best Turkish athlete was Esma Aydemir in fourth in 72:26 on what was her debut at the distance.

Mathieu clocks 46.47

Relay Olympic gold medalist Michael Mathieu from Bahamas won the 400m at the Hoover Alumni meet in 46.47, an indoor PB. Fifteen-year-old Brian Herron won three events – the 60m in 6.99, 200m in 21.84 and 400m in 48.76.

Merga added to Campaccio Cross

Ethiopia’s Imane Merga has been added to the field for the 59th Campaccio Cross Country, which will take place on January 6 (IAAF CC Permit). The 2011 world cross-country champion raced here in 2014, when he took third behind champion Albert Rop of Bahrain. Rop will return in an effort to regain his title this year.

The men’s field also contains Kenya’s Thomas Longosiwa, world junior cross-country champion Yasin Haji of Ethiopia and European junior champion Yemaneberhan Crippa of Italy.

The women’s field is set to feature multiple world cross-country medallist Linet Masai of Kenya, All Africa Games 10,000m champion Alice Aprot, Asian Games steeplechase champion Ruth Jebet of Bahrain and All Africa Games steeplechase champion Sofia Assefa of Ethiopia. Aprot beat Jebet (15:52 to 15:53) at the Silvesterlauf in Peuerbach over 5.1 km on December 31.

Details on Boston Marathon documentary

In January 2014, the Boston Athletic Association (BAA) announced that a documentary about the Boston Marathon was being planned. Now director Jon Dunham has given some information on the project to AP.

“Boston” will tell the stories of some of the greatest marathoners ever to conquer the hilly 26.2-mile course stretching from Hopkinton, Massachusetts, to Boston. They include four-time winner Bill Rodgers; Johnny Kelley, who ran 61 Bostons and won two; and Kathrine Switzer, who in 1967 became the first woman to run with an official bib number.

“It’s a huge undertaking. We’ve got 300 hours of stuff we shot, not counting the archival material,” said Dunham.

It is planned for the movie to premiere in April 2017 in conjunction with the 121st edition of the race.

Hakone Ekiden

Aoyama Gakuin University won the 92nd Hakone Ekiden in 10:53:25. The race was completed in two days at five stages over 109.6 km with 21 teams. Second was Toyo University 11:00:36 and third Komazawa University 11:04:00.

After leading the first day of Japan’s biggest race the entire way, defending champions Aoyama Gakuin University did it again on the return trip to become the first school in 39 years to lead the Hakone Ekiden start to finish.

» Athletics Weekly’s global update is provided by EME NEWS. Readers interested in subscribing to receive full daily EME NEWS reports directly should contact Alfonz Juck at [email protected]