Athletics trio receive recognition at the SJA British Sports Awards in London

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Greg Rutherford and Dina Asher-Smith were among the athletes to claim SJA British Sports Awards in London on Thursday (December 17).

Ennis-Hill, who claimed her second world heptathlon title in Beijing, and Rutherford, who completed a ‘grand slam’ of Olympic, world, European and Commonwealth long jump titles in China, were both presented with their awards by Patrick Collins, president of the Sports Journalists’ Association, having been voted top of the poll in the sportsman and sportswoman of the year categories.

Ennis-Hill claimed the women’s prize for a record-equalling fourth time ahead of road cyclist Lizzie Armitstead and skeleton world champion Lizzy Yarnold to match the number of awards claimed by Paula Radcliffe. Hannah Cockroft was voted ninth and Asher-Smith 10th. Jo Pavey won the 2014 honour.

Rutherford received the men’s award ahead of two-time Tour de France winner Chris Froome and three-time Formula 1 world champion Lewis Hamilton and is the first athlete from track and field to win the title since Iwan Thomas in 1998. Mo Farah was voted fifth.

Asher-Smith, who broke the British 100m and 200m records in 2015 as well as equalling the UK indoor 60m mark, received the SJA Pat Besford Award for outstanding performance of the year at the gala ceremony in central London which was sponsored by The National Lottery.