A 17-strong team has been named for the event taking place in Wales in September

Emma Clayton and Robbie Simpson are among the 17 athletes that have been named on the Great Britain & Northern Ireland team for the World Mountain Running Championship in Betws-y-Coed, Wales, on September 19.

Clayton is a silver medallist from the championships in the last up and down event in 2013. A bronze medal in Porto Moniz at the European Mountain Running Championships in July has given the Yorkshire woman great confidence as she heads into her next major international for Britain.

She will be joined by trials winner Sarah Tunstall, GB debutant Emily Collinge and Hatti Archer, who returns to a British team for the first time since the European Championships over 3000m steeplechase in 2012.

Simpson, who was fourth at the recent uphill European Championships in Portugal, will go up against the likes of fellow Scot Andrew Douglas, who he beat by over a minute at the trials. The duo will be joined by Tom Adams, Tom Addison, Ben Mounsey and Chris Smith as the team seeks to make the most of home advantage in Snowdonia.

Max Nicholls and Jacob Adkin, fifth and sixth respectively at the European Championships last month, will be aiming high in the junior men’s race. They will be joined by John Spill and Jacob Boyle who will both make their maiden appearances in a British vest.

A trio of athletes has been selected for the junior women’s event including trials winner Heidi Davies, former European champion Georgia Malir and Scarlet Dale, who is added to the team for the first time.

“There were some really strong performances and great racing at the trials last weekend and all those selected have a unique opportunity to compete at a home World Championships,” said team leader Sarah Rowell.

“This is a very strong British team we are sending to the World Mountain Running Championships in Wales. We will be looking to make the most of home advantage and the teams will be targeting both individual and team medals.”

GB team for the World Mountain Running Championships

Senior men
Tom Adams
Tom Addison
Andrew Douglas
Ben Mounsey
Robbie Simpson
Chris Smith

Senior women
Hatti Archer
Emma Clayton
Emily Collinge
Sarah Tunstall

Junior men
Jacob Adkin
Jacob Boyle
Max Nicholls
John Spill

Junior women
Scarlet Dale
Heidi Davies
Georgia Malir