Greg Rutherford and Jo Pavey lead the medal charge as 98-strong British squad has been selected for Amsterdam on July 6-10

With the Rio Olympics starting in August, the European Championships could easily have turned into an event for B-category athletes. But British Athletics has supported it by sending a 98-strong squad – its largest in history – to next month’s event in Amsterdam.

The team includes a half a dozen reigning champions as well – including Greg Rutherford, who is also preparing to defend his Olympic long jump title in Rio, distance runner Jo Pavey, sprint hurdler Tiffany Porter and sprinters James Dasaolu, Martyn Rooney and Adam Gemili.

There are also strong relay squads with British Athletics clearly using the event as a chance to warm-up for the Olympics.

The team is missing a few big names, however, such as Olympic champions Mo Farah and Jessica Ennis-Hill, plus Laura Muir, Lynsey Sharp, Andy Butchart and Katarina Johnson-Thompson. But generally the team for Amsterdam is brimming with quality and quantity and will delight the critics who have seen British Athletics send smaller teams – and in some cases no team – to various championships in recent years.

Neil Black, the British Athletics performance director, said: “We have picked our biggest team ever for the European Championships and given everyone the best possible chance to put themselves in the frame for the Olympics in Rio. We expect every athlete to make their individual final, with many challenging for places on the podium.”

At the last European Championships – in Zurich two years ago – Great Britain topped the medals table as it enjoyed its most successful Europeans with 12 golds and 23 medals in total.

But the 2016 event could be even more successful due to Russia not fielding a team when it kicks off a week on Wednesday.

GB team for Amsterdam


100m: Ojie Edoburun, James Ellington, Richard Kilty. 200m: Danny Talbot, Nethaneel Mithchell-Blake, Zharnel Hughes. 400m: Martyn Rooney, Jarryd Dunn. 800m: Michael Rimmer, Jamie Webb, Elliot Giles. 1500m: Jake Wightman, Lee Emanuel, Tom Lancashire. 5000m: Jonathan Davies, Jonathan Taylor. 10,000m: Andy Vernon, Dewi Griffiths. 3000m steeplechase: Rob Mullett. 110m hurdles: Andy Pozzi, Lawrence Clarke, David King. 400m hurdles: Jack Green, Rhys Williams, Tom Burton. High jump: Chris Baker, Robbie Grabarz. Pole vault: Luke Cutts. Long jump: Greg Rutherford, Dan Bramble. Triple jump: Nathan Douglas, Julian Reid. Hammer: Nick Miller, Chris Bennett, Mark Dry. Decathlon: Ashley Bryant. 4x100m: James Ellington, Adam Gemili, Richard Kilty, Danny Talbot, Nethaneel Mithchell-Blake, Zharnel Hughes, Chijindu Ujah, James Dasaolu, Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Ojie Edoburun. 4x400m: Jarryd Dunn, Jack Green, Rabah Yousif, Delano Williams, Matthew Hudson-Smith, Nigel Levine. Half-Marathon Cup: Callum Hawkins, Tsegai Tewedle, Derek Hawkins, Jonathan Hay, Matt Bond, Lee Merrien (Scott Overall has withdrawn with injury and Griffiths has moved to 10,000m).


100m: Asha Philip, Desiree Henry. 200m: Dina Asher-Smith, Jodie Williams. 400m: Anyika Onuora, Christine Ohuruogu. 800m: Adelle Tracey, Alison Leonard, Jenny Meadows. 1500m: Sarah McDonald, Melissa Courtney. 5000m: Steph Twell, Laura Whittle, Eilish McColgan. 10,000m: Kate Avery, Jessica Andrews, Jo Pavey. 3000m steeplechase: Lennie Waite, Rosie Clarke. 100m hurdles: Tiffany Porter, Serita Solomon, Lucy Hatton. High jump: Isobel Pooley. Long jump: Shara Proctor, Lorraine Ugen, Jazmin Sawyers. Triple jump: Laura Samuel. Shot: Rachel Wallader. Discus: Jade Lally. Hammer: Sophie Hitchon. Javelin: Goldie Sayers. Heptathlon: Morgan Lake. 4x100m: Asha Philip, Desiree Henry, Dina Asher-Smith, Daryll Neita, Bianca Williams, Louise Bloor, Shannon Hylton. 4x400m: Anyika Onuora, Seren Bundy-Davies, Emily Diamond, Eilidh Doyle, Margaret Adeoye, Kelly Massey. Half-Marathon Cup: Alyson Dixon, Tina Muir, Charlotte Purdue, Gemma Steel, Lily Partridge, Jessica Coulson.

» Look out for our in-depth coverage from Amsterdam in AW next month and this coming issue of the magazine, out on June 30, features up-to-date European rankings

» Team list updated on July 5 to reflect Ojie Edoburun replacing Adam Gemili in the 100m and David King replacing William Sharman in the 110m hurdles, while Perri Shakes-Drayton has also been removed from the 4x400m squad