The country’s top young runners enjoy their moment of glory over the final three miles of the marathon course

Tom Mortimer and Sabrina Sinha were among the winners of the Virgin Money Giving Mini London Marathon races, crossing the finish line on The Mall before the elite 26-mile runners on Sunday.

Following in the footsteps of the likes of Mo Farah, Scott Overall and David Weir, the young athletes covered the last three miles of the marathon course, starting at Old Billingsgate.

Athletes represented either their London boroughs or British regions as the two categories of races were merged.

Representing Greenwich borough and having now moved up to the under-17 age group, Sinha regained the title she won in 2014, finishing six seconds ahead of runner-up Lucy Pygott and clocking 16:23.

Clocking 14:14 in the under-17 boys’ event, Stroud’s Mortimer improved from 65th and 14th in the previous two years to take a one-second victory over Jake Heyward.

In the under-15 races, Josh Cowperthwaite, the 2016 English National cross-country champion, ran 14:48 to win by 12 seconds over Lachlan Wellington as he improved from second two years ago. Faye Ireland, the Inter-Counties cross bronze medallist in 2016, won the girls’ race by three seconds.

Wales’ Osian Perrin won the under-13 race by eight seconds from Harley Norman. Amelia Kane was the biggest winner of the day, finishing 21 seconds clear in the under-13 girls’ event and clocking 17:23.

Jack Agnew, Shauna Bocquet, Kare Adenegan and Zien Zhou won the wheelchair races.

» See the April 28 issue of Athletics Weekly for in-depth coverage from London