The Commonwealth medallists will be joined by team-mate Gemma Bridge at the IAAF World Race Walking Team Championships

Tom Bosworth will look to follow his Commonwealth Games success with another strong performance when he races for GB at the IAAF World Race Walking Team Championships in Taicang, China, this weekend (May 5-6).

The Olympic sixth-placer clocked a British record of 79:38 to claim 20km race walk silver for England on the Gold Coast and now makes his fourth successive World Race Walking Team Champs appearance.

Eiki Takahashi goes into the event with a world leading PB of 77:26 set when winning the Japanese title and he is joined on the team by Toshikazu Yamanishi and Daisuke Matsunaga.

Australia’s Olympic bronze medallist Dane Bird-Smith claimed the Commonwealth title ahead of Bosworth and is also back in action, while the entry list features world champion Eider Arevalo of Colombia too. Alex Wright and Cian McManamon, who were part of the Irish team that won team bronze last year at the European event, compete again.

Bethan Davies and Gemma Bridge compete for GB in the women’s event, with Davies having set a personal best of 91:53 in Switzerland in March and then claimed Commonwealth bronze for Wales in Australia.

Bridge was fifth on the Gold Coast and has a PB of 92:33.

Yang Jiayu won the world title in London last summer and will be hoping to secure another title, this time in front of home fans. She is joint quickest this year on the entry list along with her team-mate Qieyang Shijie, after both athletes clocked 87:36 at the National Race Walking Grand Prix but Qieyang was declared the winner from a photo finish.

Mexico’s Maria Guadalupe Gonzalez returns to defend her title and will be looking for further success following silver medal-winning performances at both the Olympic Games in Rio and World Championships in London. She has clocked 87:46 so far this year.

Canada’s Evan Dunfee is among the entries in the 50km event, which features a strong Japanese team led by by world silver and Olympic bronze medallist Hirooki Arai.

Spain’s 48-year-old Jesus Angel Garcia will be competing at the championships for a record 13th time, while Brendan Boyce races for Ireland.

A total of 33 athletes are set to contest the women’s 50km race walk, which was introduced at the championships in Rome two years ago when it formed part of the men’s race and one female athlete took part.

Portugal’s world champion Inez Henriques goes into the event as the favourite and among her rivals will be China’s world silver medallist Yin Hang and 50km debutante Claire Tallent of Australia.

The championships also features under-20 10km events, and the start lists for all of the races can be found here.

The action begins with the men’s and women’s 50km events at 8:00 local time (01:00 UK) on Saturday, before the men’s 10km and women’s 20km events on Saturday afternoon local time (8:30 and 9:30 UK respectively).

Sunday’s programme includes the women’s 10km at 9:00 local time (2:00 UK) and the men’s 20km at 10:10 local time (3:10 UK).

The timetable can be found here and details on TV and live stream coverage here.