A round-up of British Masters Road Relay Championships action at Sutton Park

There were some exciting races at the 29th British Masters Road Relay Championships at Sutton Park on Saturday (May 14).

Morpeth Harriers won the M35 event by over two minutes in a course record 1:31:55. The team was aided by sub-15 minute runs for the three-mile legs by Peter Newton with 14:31 and Ian Hudspith with 14:40.

Ronhill Cambuslang Harriers were second and Thames Hare and Hounds were third, but they won a thrilling M45 race. Andy Weir overtook the teams of Aldershot and North Shields Poly on the second half of the final leg.

The fastest time was set by Mansfield’s Mark Johnson with 15:20 in winning the opening leg.

South London Harriers won the M55 race by 43 seconds from Les Croupiers.

The Welsh club were indebted to M60 Martin Rees who moved them from eighth to second on the final leg with the fastest time of 16:28.

Stockport won the M65 race clearly with their Robert Taylor fastest by 59 seconds with 18:36.

The women’s W35 race was one of the most exciting in history with just 14 seconds covering the top four teams after four legs.

Bev Simons moved from third to first in the closing stages to give Salford victory over Telford and Belgrave, with Heanor a close fourth.

Claire Martin ran the fastest leg of 17:05.

Dulwich were clear winners of the W45 event. After coming in second on leg one they moved through to win easily from Trentham. The latter’s Mandy Vernon was fastest with 17:45, with Clare Elms of the winners second best on 17:56.

Bingley Harriers won the W55 race with their Sue Becconsall fastest with 20:23.

Bingley also won the M75 event, while Wold Vets won the W65 race with Barbara Brown quickest on 22:11.

» See the May 19 edition of AW magazine for more in-depth reports, pictures and results