A look ahead to the Prefontaine Classic Diamond League meeting in Eugene, where Farah races 5000m, Dibaba targets the world record and Elaine Thompson takes on Dafne Schippers over 200m

Mo Farah will continue his farewell track season by forming part of a top 5000m field at the Prefontaine Classic, the third meeting in the IAAF Diamond League series.

The four-time Olympic gold medallist clocked 3:34.19 for 1500m behind Olympic champion Matt Centrowitz in Los Angeles recently and he will step up to take on Olympic silver medallist Paul Chelimo and bronze medallist Hagos Gebrhiwet, plus Yomif Kejelcha, Geoffrey Kamworor, Caleb Ndiku and Britain’s Andrew Butchart, who ran 7:45.36 for eighth in Doha.

That race takes place on Saturday, with the meeting coming to a close with the Bowerman Mile featuring three-time world gold medallist Asbel Kiprop, Ayanleh Souleiman and Britain’s Charlie Grice. Centrowitz was a late withdrawal through illness. The earlier international mile features Britain’s Chris O’Hare.

Britain’s Laura Muir and Laura Weightman both go in the non-Diamond League 1500m along with Faith Kipyegon and Hellen Obiri, while the 800m includes Lynsey Sharp and two-time Olympic champion Caster Semenya.

The men’s 400m features Britain’s Matthew Hudson- Smith, while Olympic medallists Nia Ali and Kristi Castlin are in 100m hurdles action.

Every athlete in the men’s 100m has a sub-10 second PB to their name, including Andre de Grasse and Justin Gatlin, plus Britain’s Adam Gemili and CJ Ujah, while Olympic champion Elaine Thompson faces world gold medallist Dafne Schippers in a mouth-watering 200m head-to-head.

Other Olympic champions in action include Ryan Crouser in the shot put, Christian Taylor in the triple jump, Thiago Braz da Silva in the pole vault, Ruth Beitia in the high jump, Dalilah Muhammad in the 400m hurdles and Omar McLeod in the 110m hurdles, which also features Britain’s Andrew Pozzi.

A world record attempt has been billed for the women’s 5000m on Friday night as Genzebe Dibaba steps back up to race over the longer distance after her fifth-place finish in the Doha 800m.

World indoor 1500m champion Sifan Hassan and Britain’s Eilish McColgan also race, while world record-holder Ruth Jebet goes in the steeplechase and Olympic gold medallist Sara Kolak in the javelin. Britain’s Shara Proctor and Lorraine Ugen both contest the long jump.

» Fans in the UK can watch the action live on Eurosport 2 from 9-11pm on Saturday. Full entry lists can be found here