European 1500m champion announced as part of a top field for the Diamond League meeting

Britain’s European champion Laura Muir says she is “anticipating a big test” at the Müller Anniversary Games when she lines up as part of a strong 1500m field just 10 weeks out from the IAAF World Championships in Doha.

Muir, who is also a double-double European indoor champion over 1500m and 3000m, will take on Olympic and world 1500m champion Faith Kipyegon, European 1500m silver medallist Sofia Ennaou, 2016 world indoor 1500m silver medallist Dawit Seyaum, 2016 world indoor 1500m bronze medallist Gudaf Tsegay,  European indoor 1500m bronze medallist Ciara Mageean and European indoor 3000m silver medallist Konstanze Klosterhalfen at the Diamond League meeting taking place in the London Stadium on July 20-21.

Fresh from PB performances of 4:01.50 and 4:05.82 respectively, Muir’s fellow British runners Sarah McDonald and Jemma Reekie complete the field.

Muir has had a superb start to her outdoor season as the Scottish athlete won the 1500m at the Diamond League in Stockholm last month, then clocked a season’s best pf 3:56.73 in Rome a few weeks ago for her second-quickest time ever as she finished fractionally behind Genzebe Dibaba.

“This year is a huge one for me and the race at the Müller Anniversary Games is going to be a key test ahead of the world championships at the end of the summer,” said Muir.

“It’s a really strong field with the likes of Faith and Konstanze in the mix, so I’m anticipating a big test with a view to producing a really strong performance in London in a few weeks’ time.

“I know the amazing crowd in the London Stadium will be supporting me and all the British and overseas athletes. They’re always fantastic and it really is a wonderful experience competing there.

“Winning the European outdoor title last summer and defending my European indoor titles earlier this year has given me more confidence and I’m really excited about this season,” she added. “The Müller Anniversary Games is 10 weeks before Doha so the countdown clock will really start ticking there, so I can’t wait to get out and race.”

Anniversary Games organisers also recently announced a world-class women’s pole vault field, with Olympic, world and European champion Katerina Stefanidi, Olympic and world silver medallist Sandi Morris, 2015 world champion Yarisley Silva, 2014 European champion Anzhelika Sidorova, Olympic bronze medallist Eliza McCartney, world bronze medallist Robeilys Peinado, European silver medallist Nikoleta Kiriakopoulou, European bronze medallist and British record-holder Holly Bradshaw, Commonwealth champion Alysha Newman and 2016 European bronze medallist Angelica Bengtsson all set to compete.

Tickets for the Müller Anniversary Games are on sale at

» For more on the latest athletics news, athletics events coverage and athletics updates, check out the AW homepage and our social media channels on TwitterFacebook and Instagram