Double Olympic champion leads 129-strong England team announced for Glasgow

Mo Farah will compete in both the 5000m and 10,000m at the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow after the double Olympic champion was confirmed in the team announced by Commonwealth Games England.

Farah, whose only previous appearance at the Commonwealths saw him finish ninth in the 5000m in 2006, had announced his availability last month and it was rumoured more recently he would be attempting to become the second man to achieve the long track double. The multiple UK record-holder would emulate Moses Kipsiro of Uganda, who did likewise in Delhi four years ago.

The team of 129 includes 42 athletes with previous Commonwealth Games experience, including four current champions or previous winners.

Among them are four athletes who lead the 2014 Commonwealth rankings in their events: Steve Lewis (pole vault), Greg Rutherford (long jump), Phillips Idowu (triple jump) and Katarina Johnson-Thompson (heptathlon).

World champion Christine Ohuruogu, who has been struggling to reach peak form this season, has been named in the relay pool rather than as an individual in the 400m.

Other strong medal contenders at the Games, at which athletics will be staged from July 27 to August 3, will be William Sharman (110m hurdles), Nick Miller and Alex Smith (hammer), Ashley Bryant (pole vault), Jessica Judd (800m), Laura Weightman (1500m), Jo Pavey (5000m and 10,000m), Julia Bleasdale (10,000m),  Tiffany Porter (100m hurdles), Meghan Beesley (400m hurdles), Shara Proctor (long jump), Sophie Hitchon (hammer), Goldie Sayers (javelin) and Morgan Lake (heptathlon).

Rutherford said: “This looks set to be a really great summer. The Commonwealth Games is going to be an amazing competition and I know that all of us on the team will be looking forward to putting in our best possible performances for Team England.”

Johnson-Thompson added: “It was fantastic to have started the season so well in Gotzis and I am now looking ahead to representing Team England. The fact England has a great tradition in the heptathlon at the Commonwealth Games makes me all the more proud to be a part of the Games and determined to continue that success.”

Peter Stanley, team leader, said: “We are delighted to be taking a team to Glasgow that contains a combination of experienced athletes who have won medals at the highest levels of competition and athletes we believe are ready to make their mark at the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games. Seeing the form already shown this summer by athletes in the squad has been tremendous and I look forward to seeing the athletes seizing the opportunities that the Games will bring.”


100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Adam Gemili, Richard Kilty

100m – T37: Daniel Hooker

200m: Chris Clarke, James Ellington, Danny Talbot

400m: Michael Bingham, Nigel Levine, Martyn Rooney

800m: Mukhtar Mohammed, Andrew Osagie, Michael Rimmer

1500m: Lee Emanuel, Charlie Grice, Richard Peters

1500m – T54: Will Smith, David Weir

5000m: Mo Farah, Tom Farrell, Andy Vernon

10,000m: Mo Farah, Jonny Mellor, Chris Thompson

Marathon: Ben Moreau, Nick Torry, Steve Way

110m hurdles: Lawrence Clarke, William Sharman, Andy Turner

400m hurdles: Niall Flannery, Sebastian Rodger, Richard Yates

3000m steeplechase: Luke Gunn, James Wilkinson

4x100m (those not in individual events): Dwain Chambers, Andy Robertson, Mark Lewis-Francis

4 x 400m (those not in individual events): Daniel Awde, Matthew Hudson-Smith, Conrad Williams

High jump: Chris Baker, Martyn Bernard, Tom Parsons

Pole vault: Luke Cutts, Max Eaves, Steve Lewis

Long jump: JJ Jegede, Greg Rutherford, Chris Tomlinson

Triple jump: Nathan Douglas, Nathan Fox, Phillips Idowu

Shot: Scott Rider

Discus: Carl Myerscough, Tom Norman

Discus – F42/44: Daniel Greaves

Hammer: Nick Miller, Alex Smith, Amir Williamson

Javelin: Joe Dunderdale, Benji Pearson

Decathlon: Martin Brockman, Ashley Bryant, John Lane


100m: Ashleigh Nelson, Asha Phillip, Bianca Williams

100m – T11/12: Selina Litt

200m: Anyika Onoura, Bianca Williams, Jodie Williams

400m: Margaret Adeoye, Shana Cox, Kelly Massey

800m: Jessica Judd, Jenny Meadows, Marilyn Okoro

1500m: Hannah England, Jemma Simpson, Laura Weightman

1500m – T53/54: Jade Jones, Lauren Rowles, ShellyWoods

5000m: Helen Clitheroe, Emelia Gorecka, Jo Pavey

10,000m: Julia Bleasdale, Pavey, Sonia Samuels

Marathon: Louise Damen, Alyson Dixon, Amy Whitehead

100m hurdles: Tiffany Porter, Serita Solomon

400m hurdles: Meghan Beesley, Hayley McLean, Ese Okoro

3000m steeplechase: Rachel Bamford, Pippa Woolven

4x100m (those not in individual events): Louise Bloor, Hayley Jones, Sophie Papps

4x400m (those not in individual events): Emily Diamond, Christine Ohuruogu, Victoria Ohuruogu

High Jump: Bethan Partridge,  Isobel Pooley

Pole vault: Katie Byres, Sally Scott

Long jump: Shara Proctor, Jazmin Sawyers, Lorraine Ugen

Long jump – F37/F38: Fiona Clarke, Bethany Woodward

Triple jump: Yamile Aldama, Chioma Matthews, Laura Samuel

Shot: Eden Francis, Sophie McKinna, Rachel Wallader

Discus: Eden Francis, Jade Lally

Hammer: Shaunagh Brown, Sophie Hitchon, Sarah Holt

Javelin: Isabelle Jeffs, Freya Jones, Goldie Sayers

Heptathlon: Katarina Johnson-Thompson, Morgan Lake, Jessica Taylor