Strong team heads to Bydgoszcz for ‘stepping stone champs’

Ojie Edoburun leads the British team set to compete at the European Under-23 Championships in Bydgoszcz this week from July 13-16.

Edoburun (pictured) leads the rankings with his best of 10.12 at an event which has proved a stepping stone between junior and senior level for athletes in the past such as distance runner Mo Farah, long jumper Darya Klishina and discus thrower Robert Harting.

When the event was held in Bydgoszcz in 2003, for example, Farah was narrowly beaten by GB team-mate Chris Thompson in the 5000m, while other winners at those 2003 championships included high jumper Blanka Vlasic and heptathlete Carolina Kluft.

Some of the leading entries for the 2017 event include Norwegian 400m hurdles talent Karsten Warholm, German middle-distance runner Konstanze Klosterhalfen and Dutch sprint hurdler Nadine Visser.

The British team is:

Women – 100m: Imani Lansiquot; 200m: Finette Agyapong, Ama Pipi; 400m: Laviai Nielsen; 800m: Hannah Segrave; 1500m: Amy Griffiths; 10,000m: Philippa Bowden, Phoebe Law and Jenny Nesbitt; 3000m steeplechase: Aimee Pratt; 100m hurdles: Yasmin Miller; 400m hurdles: Jessica Turner; Pole vault: Lucy Bryan; Discus: Amy Holder; Heptathlon: Katie Stainton; 4x100m: Finette Agyapong, Imani Lansiquot, Yasmin Miller, Diani Walker, Cleo Stephenson; 4x400m: Cheriece Hylton, Laviai Nielsen, Lina Nielsen, Ama Pipi, Kelsey Stewart, Jess Turner, Nikita Campbell-Smith

Men – 100m: Reuben Arthur, Joseph Dewar and Ojie Edoburun; 400m: Cameron Chalmers; 800m: Daniel Rowden; 1500m: Robbie Fitzgibbon, Neil Gourley, James West; 5000m: Alex George; 10,000m: Ellis Cross; 3000m steeplechase: Jamaine Coleman and Daniel Jarvis; 110m hurdles: Khai Riley-La Borde and James Weaver; 400m hurdles: Jack Lawrie and Jacob Paul; 20km walk: Cameron Corbishley; High jump: Chris Kandu; Pole vault: Charlie Myers; Long jump: Jacob Fincham-Dukes; Hammer: Taylor Campbell; Decathlon: Tim Duckworth; 4x100m: Reuben Arthur, Joseph Dewar, Kyle de Escofet, Ojie Edoburun, Theo Etienne and Chris Stone; 4x400m: Cameron Chalmers, Sam Hazel, Elliot Rutter, Ben Snaith, Tom Somers, Lee Thompson

» The event will be streamed on the European Athletics website. A timetable and results can be found here