Sally Pearson and Kim Mickle named part of Australia’s second largest-ever Commonwealth Games team for Glasgow

Athletics Australia has announced a 103-strong team for the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow.

Combining a mixture of youth and experience, it is the second biggest athletics team to ever compete for Australia, behind only the team of 120 that represented the nation in Melbourne in 2006.

Captaining the team is Olympic 100m hurdles champion Sally Pearson, who has been confirmed for the 100m flat as well as the sprint hurdles and 4x100m relay squad.

Joining her in Glasgow will be the likes of world javelin silver medallist Kim Mickle and 44 athletes making their major championship debuts. There are also three sets of siblings on the team — Alana and Matt Boyd and Liz and Vicky Parnov in the pole vault and Hamish and Huw Peacock in the javelin and hammer respectively.

“It is the second biggest team ever to compete for Australia in track and field and it is great to see a real mix of outstanding experience and up and coming talent on the team list,” commented Athletics Australia chairman of selectors, Dion Russell.

“More than 40% of those set to start are debutants and I hope that they relish the privileged opportunity they now have to compete for their country at an open age major international championship.”

A total of 66 athletes competed for Australia in athletics at the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi, where the team won 11 gold, six silver and three bronze medals to finish second behind Kenya on the medals table.

The Glasgow Commonwealth Games take place from July 23 – August 3, with athletics action getting underway on July 27.

Australia team for Glasgow 2014

T37 100m: Sean Roberts
200m: Jarrod Geddes
400m: Steven Solomon
800m: Josh Ralph, Jeff Riseley, Alex Rowe
1500m: Jeff Riseley, Ryan Gregson, Collis Birmingham
T54 1500m: Richard Colman, Kurt Fearnle, Richard Nicholson
5000m: Collis Birmingham, Ben St Lawrence
10,000m: Ben St Lawrence, Harry Summers, Chris Hamer
Marathon: Martin Dent, Michael Shelley, Liam Adams
110m hurdles: Nicholas Hough, Sam Baines
400m hurdles: Ian Dewhurst, Tristan Thomas
3000m steeplechase: James Nipperess
High jump: Nik Bojic, Brandon Starc
Pole vault: Joel Pocklington, Matt Boyd
Long jump: Robbie Crowther, Henry Frayne, Fabrice Lapierre
Shot put: Damien Birkinhead
Discus throw: Benn Harradine, Julian Wruck
F42/44 discus throw: Paul Raison, Don Elgin
Hammer throw: Tim Driesen, Huw Peacock
Javelin: Joshua Robinson, Hamish Peacock, Luke Cann
Decathlon: Jake Stein, Stephen Cain
4x100m relay: Tim Leathart, Jarrod Geddes, Jake Hammond, Alex Hartmann, Joel Bee, Jin Su Jung
4x400m relay: Steven Solomon, Alex Beck, Craig Burns, Dylan Grant, John Steffensen, Tristan Thomas

100m: Sally Pearson, Melissa Breen
200m: Ella Nelson, Ashleigh Whittaker
400m: Morgan Mitchell, Anneliese Rubie
800m: Brittany McGowan, Kelly Hetherington
1500m: Zoe Buckman, Kaila McKnight, Melissa Duncan
T54 1500m: Madison de Rozario, Christie Dawes, Angela Ballard
5000m: Emily Brichacek, Eloise Wellings
Marathon: Jess Trengove, Melanie Panayiotou, Sarah Klein
3000m steeplechase: Victoria Mitchell, Genevieve LaCaze, Madeline Heiner
100m hurdles: Sally Pearson, Shannon McCann, Michelle Jenneke
400m hurdles: Lauren Wells, Lyndsay Pekin
High jump: Eleanor Patterson, Zoe Timmers, Hannah Joye
Pole vault: Liz Parnov, Alana Boyd, Vicky Parnov
Long jump: Brooke Stratton, Jessica Penney, Margaret Gayen
T37/38 long jump: Jodi Elkington, Rae Anderson, Ella Pardy
Triple jump: Linda Leverton, Ellen Pettitt
Shot put: Dani Samuels, Kim Mulhall
Discus throw: Dani Samuels, Christie Chamberlain, Taryn Gollshewsky
Hammer throw: Lara Neilsen, Gabrielle Neighbour
Javelin: Kim Mickle, Kathryn Mitchell, Kelsey-Lee Roberts
Heptathlon: Sophie Stanwell
4x100m relay: Sally Pearson, Melissa Breen, Ashleigh Whittaker, Ella Nelson, Margaret Gayen, Michelle Cutmore
4x400m relay: Morgan Mitchell, Anneleise Rubie, Caitlin Sargent, Lauren Wells, Lyndsay Pekin, Jess Gulli