Maria Lasitskene and Wayde van Niekerk also included in the two 10-strong IAAF shortlists

The IAAF has announced the 10 male and 10 female athletes shortlisted for the 2017 World Athlete of the Year awards.

Britain’s 10-time global track gold medallist Mo Farah, Australia’s two-time world 100m hurdles champion Sally Pearson, South Africa’s world 400m record-holder Wayde van Niekerk and Russia’s Maria Lasitskene, who won world high jump gold in London competing as a neutral athlete, are among the nominees.

The nominees were selected by an international panel of athletics experts, comprising representatives from all six continental areas of the IAAF.

The full list of nominees includes:

Mutaz Essa Barshim (QAT)
Pawel Fajdek (POL)
Mohamed Farah (GBR)
Sam Kendricks (USA)
Elijah Manangoi (KEN)
Luvo Manyonga RSA)
Omar McLeod (JAM)
Christian Taylor (USA)
Wayde van Niekerk (RSA)
Johannes Vetter (GER)

Almaz Ayana (ETH)
Maria Lasitskene (ANA)
Hellen Obiri (KEN)
Sally Pearson (AUS)
Sandra Perkovic (CRO)
Brittney Reese (USA)
Caster Semenya (RSA)
Ekaterini Stefanidi (GRE)
Nafissatou Thiam (BEL)
Anita Wlodarczyk (POL)

Fans will be able to vote online via the IAAF’s Twitter and Facebook platforms from this week, while members of the IAAF Council and the IAAF Family will cast their votes by email.

The IAAF Council’s vote will count for 50% of the result, while the IAAF Family’s votes and the public votes will each count for 25% of the final result.

Voting closes on October 16 and then the three male and three female finalists will be named by the IAAF.

The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the IAAF Athletics Awards in Monaco on November 24.

Last year’s awards were won by Usain Bolt and Almaz Ayana as Jamaican sprint star Bolt, who retired after the World Championships in London this summer, claimed the honour for a record sixth time.