Fields have been announced for the inaugural event in March

Some of Britain’s best female distance runners will battle on the streets of London, while Dewi Griffiths will form part of a men’s field also including the already-announced Mo Farah and Callum Hawkins at The Vitality Big Half on March 4.

The fields for the inaugural event have been revealed, with Lily Partridge and Charlotte Purdue among those racing in the women’s event, and David Weir among those going for victory in the elite wheelchair race.

Partridge – who won the Seville Half Marathon eight days ago in a course record time of 71:09 – is the fastest athlete in the field over the half-marathon distance and will be using the race to prepare for her Virgin Money London Marathon debut in April.

Purdue, who is also preparing for the London Marathon, will also be on the start line along with Alyson Dixon and Sonia Samuels, who are both running the marathon at the Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast in April.

The bronze medallist from last year’s World Championships marathon and Britain’s fastest marathon runner in 2017 have been added to the strong elite men’s field that also features Kenya’s 2017 London Marathon champion Daniel Wanjiru.

Tanzania’s Alphonce Simbu will be joined by Wales’ Griffiths, who became one of only 16 British men in history to run under 2:10 for the marathon when he clocked 2:09:49 in Frankfurt last October.

Jonny Mellor and Tsegai Tewelde are also among those working towards the London Marathon, while Alex Teuten has his eye on the IAAF World Half Marathon Championships.

In the elite men’s wheelchair race, British legend Weir will renew his rivalry with Marcel Hug. The Weirwolf pipped Hug to victory in a sprint finish at last year’s London Marathon. They will race again over the 13.1-mile distance at The Vitality Big Half before doing battle again over the full marathon distance on April 22.

Hug’s Swiss compatriot Manuela Schär – the 2017 London Marathon champion and course record-holder – headlines the elite women’s wheelchair field where she will face British Paralympian Jade Jones.


Daniel Wanjiru (59:20)
Sir Mo Farah (59:22)
Callum Hawkins (60:00)
Dewi Griffiths (61:33)
Alphonce Simbu (61:59)
Jonny Mellor (62:23)
Tsegai Tewelde (63:14)
Matthew Sharp (65:03)
Josh Griffiths (65:18)
Luke Caldwell (65:24)
Aaron Scott (65:50)
Alex Teuten (65:54)


Lily Partridge (70:31)
Alyson Dixon (70:38)
Louise Damen (70:47)
Charlotte Purdue (71:43)
Sonia Samuels (72:36)
Tracy Barlow (72:48)
Rebecca Murray (72:59)
Tish Jones (72:55)
Jenny Spink (73:01)
Louise Small (73:47)
Faye Fullerton (74:06)


David Weir
Marcel Hug
John Smith
Simon Lawson


Jade Jones
Manuela Schar
Annika Zein
Sandra Graf