European 1500m champion Laura Muir is part of a strong British squad that will race at the Simplyhealth Great Stirling XCountry next month

Laura Muir will anchor the GB mixed relay team at the Simplyhealth Great Stirling XCountry on Saturday January 12.

The European 1500m gold medallist makes her fifth consecutive appearance in the 4x1km team at this event – which moves to Stirling next month after previously being held in Edinburgh – and is yet to be beaten in the event while representing the GB team.

The event sees Britain take on teams from Europe and the United States and Muir will be joined in the relay by Phil Sesemann, Alex Bell and Jamie Williamson – three of the four runners who formed the GB team at the European Championships in Tilburg.

Kate Avery, who took team silver at the European Cross Country Championships in Tilburg on Sunday and won the Great Edinburgh XCountry in 2016, joins the leading Brit from Tilburg, Charlotte Arter, plus fellow team silver medallists Pippa Woolven, Jess Piasecki and Verity Ockenden.

Andy Vernon returns in Stirling after missing the Euro Cross due to injury, with Charlie Hulson, Kristian Jones, Ross Millington, Nick Goolab and Patrick Dever also in the men’s team. In addition, Grace Brock and Matt Willis are part of a GB team in a junior mixed relay over 4x1km.

The United States squad is yet to be announced but the Europe team is led by Anna Emilie Moller, the European under-23 champion in cross-country and 3000m steeplechase who is from Denmark but based at St Mary’s University in London.

Europe’s men’s team, meanwhile, includes the silver and bronze medallists from the Europeans in Tilburg this month – Isaac Kimeli from Belgium and Aras Kaya from Turkey, plus Sweden’s Napoleon Solomon and Spain’s Adel Mechaal.

In the mixed relay, Europe is represented by the Spanish quartet who took gold in Tilburg – Saul Ordonez, Esther Guerrero, Victor Ruiz and Solange Pereira – while Europe’s junior mixed relay team is Delia Sclabas and Sibylle Haring of Switzerland, France’s Valentin Bresc and Ireland’s Darragh McElhinney.

The BBC televised event also includes a Simplyhealth Great Stirling Castle Run and Scottish inter-district races.

Men: Patrick Dever, Charlie Hulson, Kristian Jones, Ross Millington, Nick Goolab, Andy Vernon.

Women: Charlotte Arter, Kate Avery, Emily Hosker Thornhill, Verity Ockenden, Jess Piasecki, Pippa Woolven.

Mixed relay: Alex Bell, Laura Muir, Philip Sesemann, Jamie Williamson.

Junior mixed relay: Charlotte Alexander, Grace Brock, Jack Meijer, Matt Willis.

More information about the meeting and timetable details here.