Nine Olympians are set to compete at the event at Parliament Hill, which incorporates the GB IAAF World Championships trials

Jo Pavey and Andy Vernon are among the nine Olympians to have been announced for the Highgate Harriers Night of the 10,000m PBs on May 20.

The event, which is free to spectate and combines top-quality racing with a unique crowd experience, will again incorporate the British 10,000m Championships, with the Parliament Hill track also playing host to those looking to make the GB team for the IAAF World Championships in London this summer.

Five-time Olympian Pavey features along with reigning British champion Jessica Martin, Beth Potter, Sonia Samuels and Portugal’s Jessica Augusto in the women’s entry list. On May 15, Steph Twell was also announced for the event, with the two-time Olympian set to make her 10,000m track debut. The 27-year-old, who raced over 1500m at the 2008 Games and 5000m at Rio 2016, has a 10km road PB of 32:28.

In the men’s entries, Rio 2016 Olympian Vernon is joined by Ross Millington, who won the GB Olympic trial race at Parliament Hill last year, plus Irish marathoner Paul Pollock.

Others in action are set to be Kate Avery, the double European cross-country runner-up who was fourth in the 2014 Commonwealth Games and has 31:45.44 PB. She ran 32:11.84 last year but has only raced once since last June. Katrina Wootton has been the leading Briton in her last two 10km races at Brighton and Birmingham and can boast a 31:46 road PB, while Elinor Kirk, who was ninth in the 2014 Commonwealth Games, has one of the fastest PBs in the field with 32:17.05.

Louise Small, who was first Brit at the World Cross in 39th place, has a 33:50.63 PB and ran 34:01.90 last year, while Jennifer Nesbitt ran 33:45.19 last year and a 74:26 clocking in the Reading Half Marathon suggests she is in good form.

Dewi Griffiths, who was fifth in the 2016 Europeans, ran a time of 28:16.07 last week, while Luke Caldwell, who has a 28:29.61 PB, was 14th in the 2014 Commonwealth Games. Ben Connor ran 29:21.47 for fifth last year but the National cross country champion has greatly improved this winter.

Others who could place highly are the National junior cross country and BUCS 5000m champion Ellis Cross and recent Scottish 10,000m champion Kristian Jones, plus Andrew Heyes, who is making his 10,000m debut.

The full current men’s entry list can be found here, while the women’s list is here.

The top two eligible athletes in each World Championships trial race will automatically be selected for the GB team for the event in London this summer, provided they also achieve the qualifying standard of 27:45 for men or 32:15 for women by midnight on July 9.

The volunteer-powered “annual 10,000m festival” at Parliament Hill invites spectators to embrace “#Lane3BeerNCheer”, with refreshments available on the track and fans able to watch the action up close from lane three.

This year’s event will also feature an endurance seminar in among the series of 10,000m races, with IAAF president Seb Coe and world marathon record-holder Paula Radcliffe among the speakers, and snooker legend Ronnie O’Sullivan, who is a keen runner, acting as host.

The event gets under way with an inter-schools relay at 13:30 before race one at 15:15 through to the men’s GB trial race at 20:15 and the women’s at 21:00. The endurance seminar is scheduled for 18:30.

» See this week’s AW magazine, out May 11, for further updates on the Highgate Harriers Night of the 10,000m PBs event

» This post was updated on May 15 to reflect the addition of Steph Twell to the entry list