Charlie Da’Vall Grice, Morgan Lake and Richard Kilty among athletes selected for Bydgoszcz

A 54-strong Great Britain and Northern Ireland team has been named for the European Team Championships Super League in Bydgoszcz, Poland, from August 9-11.

Charlie Da’Vall Grice (pictured) makes his third appearance at the event, fresh from moving to fourth on the UK 1500m all-time list after running 3:30.62 at the Monaco Diamond League.

READ MORE: Charlie Grice on his magical metric mile in Monaco

Also having set a recent PB, at the Müller Anniversary Games, European indoor silver medallist Jamie Webb will run the 800m, as will European indoor champion Shelayna Oskan-Clarke.

Jessica Judd will race the 1500m after having won the World University Games 5000m title earlier this month.

READ MORE: Jess Judd wins World University Games gold

Grice, Webb, Oskan-Clarke and Judd are four of 20 athletes selected for the championships to have achieved a qualifying standard for the IAAF World Championships in Doha later this year, with that list also including Olympic finalist Morgan Lake (high jump), Rosie Clarke (3000m steeplechase), Meghan Beesley (400m hurdles), Sophie McKinna (shot put) and Greg Thompson (discus), who is one of 12 making a senior British debut.

This month has already seen international success in the British vest for a number of athletes selected, with Tom Gale and Cameron Fillery claiming high jump silver and 110m hurdles bronze respectively at the European U23 Championships. They also make their senior British debuts in Poland.

READ MORE: European U20 Championships

Harry Aikines-Aryeetey and Dwayne Cowan earn selection for the men’s 100m and 400m respectively, having both claimed victory at the championships two years ago in France. The event holds added significance for Aikines-Aryeetey as it was where he made his senior British debut, then known as the European Cup, in Malaga in 2006.

British Athletics performance director Neil Black said: “As ever, I am delighted to announce the 54 athletes chosen to represent Great Britain & Northern Ireland at the European Team Championships next month.

“The championships mark the start of a busy period leading up to the IAAF World Championships in Doha and once again we want to show ourselves as one of the leading nations in Europe.

“For some of the athletes selected the event presents them with an opportunity to test themselves in a team environment against high-quality international competition, while for others it offers an opportunity for them to put themselves in the mix for selection for the IAAF World Championships later this year.

“We have seen some fantastic performances at the European under-20 and under-23 championships over the past two weeks and it is great to see athletes being given the opportunity to show what they can do at senior level. We want to finish as high in the team standings as possible in Bydgoszcz and we look forward to seeing what our athletes can deliver.”

British team selected for the European Team Championships

100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey
200m: Richard Kilty
400m: Dwayne Cowan
800m: Jamie Webb
1500m: Charlie Da’Vall Grice
3000m: James West
5000m: Nick Goolab
3000m steeplechase: Zak Seddon
110m hurdles: Cameron Fillery
400m hurdles: Chris McAlister
High jump: Tom Gale
Pole vault: Charlie Myers
Long jump: Jacob Fincham-Dukes
Triple jump: Ben Williams
Shot put: Scott Lincoln
Discus: Gregory Thompson
Hammer: Nick Miller
Javelin: Tom Hewson
4x100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Dominic Ashwell, Shemar Boldizsar, Oliver Bromby, Richard Kilty
4x400m: Niclas Baker, Ethan Brown, Alex Knibbs, Martyn Rooney, Lee Thompson, Rabah Yousif

100m: Daryll Neita
200m: Jodie Williams
400m: Amy Allcock
800m: Shelayna Oskan-Clarke
1500m: Jessica Judd
3000m: Emily Hosker-Thornhill
5000m: Sarah Inglis
3000m steeplechase: Rosie Clarke
100m hurdles: Cindy Ofili
400m hurdles: Meghan Beesley
High jump: Morgan Lake
Pole vault: Sophie Cook
Long jump: Abigail Irozuru
Triple jump: Naomi Ogbeta
Shot put: Sophie McKinna
Discus: Kirsty Law
Hammer: Sophie Hitchon
Javelin: Bekah Walton
4x100m: Kristal Awuah, Rachel Miller, Daryll Neita, Ashleigh Nelson, Bianca Williams
4x400m: Zoey Clark, Emily Diamond, Beth Dobbin, Laviai Nielsen, Jessica Turner, Jodie Williams

» This post was updated on July 31 to reflect team changes including the addition of Nick Goolab to run the men’s 5000m and the withdrawal of Asha Philip from the women’s 4x100m

» For more on the latest athletics news, athletics events coverage and athletics updates, check out the AW homepage and our social media channels on TwitterFacebook and Instagram