Armand Duplantis and Sydney McLaughlin claim rising star honours at awards evening in Monaco

World record-breaker Eliud Kipchoge and jumps star Caterine Ibarguen were named the world athletes of the year at the IAAF Athletics Awards in Monaco on Tuesday evening.

Kenya’s Kipchoge ran his incredible 2:01:39 marathon world record in Berlin in September and that performance followed his victory on the roads of London in April, when he clocked 2:04:17.

The 34-year-old took 78 seconds off the previous record with his time in Germany.

“This award means a lot to me,” said Kipchoge.

“I want to pass my gratitude to my family, my wife and my children – they are my ignition key every morning when I am waking up for training.

“Secondly I want to say thank you to my coach Patrick Sang, and to my management Global Sports Communication as they have exposed my career and I am able now to show to all that if you believe in yourself and work hard, you can achieve more. Finally a huge thank you to my sponsors Nike and NN.”

For Colombia’s Ibarguen, not only did she set the triple jump world lead and remain unbeaten in eight finals in that discipline, but she also became the IAAF Continental Cup winner, IAAF Diamond League champion and Central American and Caribbean champion at both the long jump and triple jump.

“I’m struggling to stand up because I’m shaking so much,” said a shocked Ibarguen, speaking through an interpreter.

“I’d like to thank all of Colombia, my coach, my family and all of the people who voted for me.”

The shortlists for the two awards had also included Dina Asher-Smith, Shaunae Miller-Uibo, Nafissatou Thiam, Beatrice Chepkoech, Kevin Mayer, Christian Coleman, Abderrahman Samba and Armand Duplantis.

Swedish pole vaulter Duplantis did still secure an award, however, as he was named one of the IAAF’s ‘rising stars’ alongside USA’s Sydney McLaughlin.

In 2018 Duplantis cleared a world under-20 record of 6.05m to win the European title in Berlin and also won the world under-20 title with a championship record, while McLaughlin set the world 400m hurdles lead of 52.75 and broke two world under-20 bests in each of the 400m hurdles and the indoor 400m.

US distance running coach Joe Vigil received the IAAF coaching achievement award, while Evelyn Claudio Lopez, who has been dedicated to promoting women’s athletics, gained the woman of the year honour.

Andreas Brugger helped to make Zurich’s Weltklasse one of the most prestigious meetings in the world and the 91-year-old was named winner of the IAAF president’s award.

Felix Sanchez Arrazola won the photograph of the year award for his image of a mud-splattered Selemon Barega at the Cross Internacional Juan Muguerza in Elgoibar.