The six-time Paralympic gold medallist has won the race a record-breaking eight times

David Weir is to return to race the Virgin Money London Marathon for the 20th consecutive time on April 28.

The six-time Paralympic gold medallist is the most successful athlete in the history of the London Marathon, having won the elite men’s wheelchair race a record-breaking eight times.

After starting his career in the Mini London Marathon, Weir’s first 26.2-mile race in the UK capital was in 2000 when he finished fifth at the age of 19.

Two years later, in 2002, he won the event for the first time and further victories came in 2006, 2007, 2008, 2011, 2012, 2017 and 2018.

“It’s amazing to be getting ready for my 20th race at the 2019 Virgin Money London Marathon,” said the 39-year-old.

“It has been an incredible journey from my first London Marathon back in 2000 and I feel very proud that I have not missed a single race since that very first one.

“Every year I say to myself that even if I only do one race, it has got to be the London Marathon. It is such a special event for me.”

The 2018 champion in the elite women’s wheelchair race, Madison De Rozario of Australia, will also return to defend her title.

De Rozario won last year’s race just a week after claiming Commonwealth Games marathon gold.

» For more on the latest athletics news, athletics events coverage and athletics updates, check out the AW homepage and our social media channels on TwitterFacebook and Instagram