SPOTY silver for golden girl Ennis

Jessica Ennis finishes runner-up at the BBC Sports Personality of the Year awards, as Lord Seb Coe and Usain Bolt also receive honours

Ennis, Farah and Weir

Although none of our track and field stars received the top gong at the BBC Sports Personality of the Year awards last night, there was still plenty of recognition for athletics.

Whilst Jessica Ennis finished runner-up to cyclist Bradley Wiggins for the prestigious SPOTY award, Lord Seb Coe and Usain Bolt also scooped some silverware, and Sir Roger Bannister made an appearance to present the Team of the Year award to Victoria Pendleton, who received it on behalf of Team GB and Paralympics GB.

After the awards Ennis, who received 22.92% of the 1,626,718 votes behind Wiggins’ 30.25% thanked her fans for their support. “What a brilliant night!” she tweeted.

“A huge honour to have come second! A year I’ll never forget! Thank you for all the support and votes!”

Tennis ace Andy Murray came third out of the 12 contenders with 14.17% of the votes, whilst the other nominees from the world of athletics, Mo Farah and David Weir, placed fourth and fifth respectively, receiving 8.07% and 7.05% of the votes.

The evening also saw Lord Coe, British Olympic Association chairman, very deservedly receive the Lifetime Achievement award from the Duchess of Cambridge.

With the award Coe, who led London’s bid to host the 2012 Games and oversaw proceedings in his position as chairman of LOCOG, became the first person from an athletics background to win the prize since it took up a regular spot at the awards in 2001.

He adds this honour to the main Sports Personality award he won in 1979, which he received after setting three world records in the space of 41 days.

Another award for the world of athletics came with Usain Bolt being named BBC Overseas Sports Personality of the Year.
It is the third time that the Jamaican sprinter, who won triple Olympic gold for the second time in London, has received the award in the past five years.

Tweeting earlier today, he said: “Thanks to all who made it possible for me to win my third BBC Overseas Sports Personality of the Year.”

Sir Roger Bannister, the first athlete to break the four-minute mile barrier, also made his way on to the SPOTY stage to present Olympic track cycling gold medallist Victoria Pendleton with the the Team of the Year award, which she received on behalf of Britain’s Olympic and Paralympic teams.

Leave a Reply