McLaughlin among juniors added to GB team for Rieti

British indoor 1500m junior record holder Matt McLaughlin joins likes of Loren Bleaken and Alex Clay in being named part of the GB team for the European Junior Champs

Matt McLaughlin

A 58-strong GB & NI team is set to head out to Rieti in Italy for the European Junior Championships taking place from July 18-21 with athletes such as Matt McLaughlin, Loren Bleaken and Alex Clay having been added to the team in a second wave of selections.

British indoor 1500m junior record holder McLaughlin headlines the additions thanks to his record-breaking personal best of 3.42.87 which should stand him in good stead, while Loren Bleaken claimed the English Schools Championship 800m title on Saturday and will be looking to continue her strong recent form. Alex Clay, who formed part of the bronze medal-winning IAAF World Cross Country Championship team earlier this year, will compete over 5000m.

Joining them in Italy and also named in the second wave of selections is Chijindu Ujah, who proved his fitness by setting a season’s best last weekend with a 10.40 100m clocking, and Matthew Hudson-Smith, who smashed his lifetime best en route to winning the English Schools senior boy’s 200m title in Birmingham.

Among those named in the first wave of selections was Jess Judd who will go into the competition as strong favourite for the women’s 800m title thanks to her recent victories at the European Team Championships and the Sainsbury’s Grand Prix – Birmingham where she broke the two minute barrier for the first time.

“The European Junior Championships play a vital part in an athlete’s development, giving crucial international experience to young athletes,” commented Alan Richardson who will be leading the team.

“We have selected a very strong team with many medal opportunities, but just as importantly it provides a learning opportunity for those athletes who will be a part of the senior GB & NI team in future years.”

GB & NI team for Rieti (second-wave additions shown with asterisk):

100m: Josh Cox, Chijindu Ujah*, Roy Ejiakuekwu*; 200m: Leon Reid, Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake*, Matthew Hudson-Smith*; 400m: Ben Snaith; 800m: Jordan Bransberg, Richard Charles*, Elliot Slade; 1500m: Shaun Wyllie , Jake Wightman, Matt McLaughlin*; 5000m: Jonathan Davies, Michael Callegari; 110mH: David King, David Omoregie, Khai Riley-Laborde; 400mH: Jacob Paul; 3000m steeplechase: Zak Seddon; 20km walk: Jamie Higgins; 4x100m relay: Cox, Reid, Ujah*, Ejiakuekwu*, Mitchell-Blake*, Ben Shields*; 4x400m relay: Hudson-Smith*, Alex Boyce*, Elliot Rutter*, George Caddick*, Scott Atkinson*; high jump: Chris Kandu; pole vault: Dan Gardner, Rowan May*; long jump: Feron Sayers, Elliot Safo; triple jump: Efe Uwaifo; discus: Nick Percy, Gregory Thompson; hammer: Michael Painter, Callum Brown*; javelin: Benji Pearson.

100m: Sophie Papps; 200m: Dina Asher-Smith, Desiree Henry; 800m: Jessica Judd, Loren Bleaken*; 3000m: Emelia Gorecka; 5000m: Gorecka, Rebecca Weston, Alex Clay*; 100mH: Yasmin Miller; 400mH: Hayley McLean, Shona Richards*, Jessica Turner*; 3000m steeplechase: Katie Ingle, Amy-Eloise Neale; 4x100m relay: Asher-Smith, Papps, Henry, Miller, Steffi Wilson*, Clieo Stephenson*; pole vault: Lucy Bryan; long jump: Jazmin Sawyers; shot: Sophie McKinna; discus: Shadine Duquemin; hammer: Louisa James.

Leave a Reply