London 2012 medallists dominate GB team for Lyon

Mixing youth with experience, GB’s 48-strong IPC World Champs team features 28 London 2012 medallists and nine athletes making senior GB debuts

Jonnie Peacock (Mark Shearman)

An ‘exciting blend’ of youth and experience will see the likes of high jumper Jonathan Broom-Edwards and sprinter Sophie Hahn head to Lyon for the IPC Athletics World Championships alongside London 2012 champions such as Hannah Cockroft and Jonnie Peacock.

A 48-strong GB & NI team has been named for the championships, which take place from July 19-28, and Paralympic head coach at UKA, Paula Dunn, hopes this can act as a ‘building block’ for 2016.

“London 2012 was a great year for the Paralympic movement with more stars emerging onto the world stage, I’m confident that we will see some more come through in Lyon at the IPC World Athletics Championships,” commented Dunn.

“There’s an exciting blend of young talent and experienced athletes in the team and hopefully this is the building block for 2016.

“We’ve seen some great performances already this year, with some of the guys posting some quick times and big throws.

“Our last competition before the Worlds is next week in Birmingham, at the Sainsbury’s IPC Athletics Grand Prix Final, and it will be a great way for our athletes to take stock of the competition before heading out to Lyon.”

A total of 28 London 2012 medallists have been named on the team, with T34 100m, 200m, 400m and 800m world record holder Cockroft, who heads to Lyon as a double Paralympic and world champion over 100m and 200m, set to be joined by the likes of London champions Mickey Bushell, Aled Davies, Josie Pearson and Richard Whitehead.

“We had a really strong team spirit last year at the London Games, so I’m looking forward to competing with some of the team from London again and seeing how everyone’s progressed,” said Cockroft.

“My personal target is to stay double world champion after winning the 100m and 200m in 2011 and hopefully post some quick times out there.”

Reigning T12 100m world champion Libby Clegg will also be looking to do the double in defending her title over the shorter sprint as well as better the 200m bronze she picked up two years ago in Christchurch, New Zealand, while Stef Reid, a silver medallist in the F44 long jump last summer, will also be looking to improve on her bronze medal placing from 2011.

Dan Greaves, a medallist at the last four Paralympic Games, heads to France as the defending champion in the F44 discus for his fourth World Championships, while Nathan Stephens will be looking to repeat his 2011 gold-medal winning feat in the F57 javelin and also lines up in the discus.



Ola Abidogun – T46 100m and 200m
Graeme Ballard – T36 100m & 200m
Paul Blake – T36 400m, 800m, 1500m
Jonathan Broom-Edwards – F44 high jump
Mickey Bushell – T53 100m, 200m & 400m
Jamie Carter – T34 200m, 400m & 800m
Aled Davies – F42 discus and shot put
Derek Derenalagi – F57 discus
Kyron Duke – F41 javelin & shot put
Dan Greaves – F44 discus
Rhys Jones – T37 100m & 200m
Scott Jones – F34 shot put
Andy Kaar – T20 1500m
Dean Miller – T37 1500m
Stephen Miller – F32 club throw
Scott Moorhouse – F42 javelin
Steve Morris – T20 1500m
Stephen Osbourne – T51 100m, 200m
Jonnie Peacock – T44 100m
Sam Ruddock – T35 100m, 200m
Ben Rushgrove – T36 100m & 200m
Nathan Stephens – F57 discus & javelin
Kieran Tscherniawsky – F33 discus & shot put
Richard Whitehead – T42 200m
Lee Whiteley – T38 100m & 200m
Rob Womack – F55/56 shot put


Hollie Arnold – F46 javelin
Olivia Breen – T38 100m, 200m & relay
Libby Clegg – T12 100m & 200m
Hannah Cockroft – T34 100m and 200m
Sophie Hahn – T38 100m, 200m & relay
Katrina Hart – T37 100m, 200m & relay
Beverley Jones – F37 discus, shot put
Jade Jones – T54 400m, 1500m, 5000m
Sophie Kamlish – T44 100m & 200m
Erin McBride – T13 400m
Jenny McLoughlin – T37 200m & relay
Holly Neill – F41 discus
Melissa Nicholls – T34 100m & 200m
Georgina Oliver – T54 100m & 200m
Josie Pearson – F51/52/53 club throw & discus
Gemma Prescott – F32 club throw
Stefanie Reid – F44 long jump
Laura Sugar – T44 100m & 200m
Sophia Warner – T35 100m, 200m
Claire Williams – F11/F12 discus
Shelly Woods – T54 1500m, 5000m & marathon
Bethany Woodward – T37 200m & 100m & relay

Leave a Reply