Kimetto and Jeptoo win in Chicago

Kenyans dominate Chicago Marathon as Kimetto breaks course record and Jeptoo clocks sub-2:20

Dennis Kimetto Tokyo Marathon

Dennis Kimetto won the Bank of America Chicago Marathon on Sunday, breaking the course record in the process, while Rita Jeptoo claimed victory in the women’s race thanks to her first sub-2:20 clocking.

Kenyans dominated proceedings at the 36th edition of the event, 2013 Tokyo Marathon winner Kimetto crossing the line in 2:03:45 to lead home compatriots Emannuel Mutai, Sammy Kitwara and Micah Kogo. With 2:03:52, Mutai also bettered the course record of 2:04:38 set by Ethiopia’s Tsegaye Kebede who became the first to break the 2:05-barrier on the course when winning in 2012.

Kimetto and Mutai, who now sit at third and fourth respectively on the marathon all-time list for legal courses, were fairly evenly matched for much of the race, but with Kimetto pulling away in the final stages Mutai had to settle for the runner-up spot.

Jeptoo led home a Kenyan one-two in the women’s race with her 2:19:57, Jemima Sumgong Jelegat clocking 2:20:48 for second. With her winning time, Jeptoo, who won her second Boston Marathon earlier this year and finished runner up in Chicago last year by just one second, becomes the 18th woman to break the 2:20 barrier at what was the 17th marathon of her career. Russia’s Maria Konovalova was third with 2:22:46.

Wheelchair racer Tatyana McFadden of the USA followed up her victories in Boston and London this year to win the women’s race in a 1:42:35 course record, while South Africa’s Ernst van Dyk won the men’s race in 1:30:37.

» See the October 17 issue of AW for more in-depth coverage from Chicago together with pictures and results. For full results see

Tsegay Adhane ends Kenyan winning streak at Marathon Eindhoven

Yemane Tsegay Adhane Marathon Eindhoven (Nico Delmeire/Organisers)

Over at the De Lage Landen Marathon Eindhoven and Ethiopia’s Yemane Tsegay Adhane ended Kenya’s 14-year winning streak thanks to his 2:09:11 in the Dutch city.

The 2012 Rotterdam Marathon winner saw off the likes of compatriots Bazu Worku and Belay Assefa for victory, the pair clocking 2:09:19 and 2:09:31 respectively.

Kenya’s Ruth Wanjiru won the women’s race in 2:34:48, preventing a home win for Andrea Deelstra who crossed the line in 2:35:39 for second ahead of compatriot Stefanie Bouma with 2:38:18.

» For results, see here 

Leave a Reply