Hynes and Damen win Leeds Abbey Dash, Buckingham and Turtle victorious in Brighton

A recap of some of this weekend’s action including the Brooks Brighton 10K, the Irish Cross Country Championships and the final round of the Run Britain Grand Prix at the Leeds Abbey Dash

Brooks Brighton 10K 2013

The top 14 men broke 30 minutes while 11 women ran under 35 minutes at the Age UK Leeds Abbey Dash 10k on Sunday.

Running in near perfect conditions, Matthew Hynes and Louise Damen were the winners at the final race of this year’s Run Britain Grand Prix series, which also incorporated the England 10km Championships.

Nicholas Torry and Katrina Wootton were confirmed as the overall winners of the Grand Prix for 2013, with prize money due to be distributed to the top 12 men and women in December.

With just three seconds separating the top three men in Leeds, Hynes crossed the line in 29:23 ahead of Josh Lilly in 29:25. Callum Hawkins was third with 29:26.

Damen clocked 33:04 to finish a clear women’s winner ahead of Tish Jones with 33:10, her second place boosting her from 11th in the Grand Prix to second. Emma Stepto was third with 33:23.

» Click here for results

Brooks Brighton 10K

From the start, it was pre-race favourite Mark Buckingham who took up the running at the Brooks Brighton 10km on Sunday, writes Martin Duff. After the turn at the Marina, he led when the field crossed back behind the start at 3km in 9:09.

A few seconds behind, Paul Whitaker and local runner Kevin Rojas led the rest as they headed out to Hove, where the 5km mark was passed in 15:28. Buckingham still led but was being reeled in by Rojas, who then took the lead at six-and-a-half km for the run back to the famous Pier and the finish on Maderia Drive.

Buckingham made a dash for the line with around 400m left to run as the trio passed the pier. The winning time was 30:48, as the threesome were the only runners inside 31 minutes. Rojas clocked 30:50 for second ahead of Whittaker with 30:52.

Top woman finisher Gemma Turtle, making a welcome return to racing after serious Achilles tendon operations, ran 34:43 and was always ahead of, but never completely safe from, Emma MacCready who clocked 35:02.

Caroline Hoyte has run this event more than most and was in third ahead of Arena 80 club mate Fiona Clark for most of the race. Hoyte was given 35:53 to Clark’s 36:15 and they did enough to ensure a team victory for their club.

» Click here for results

Cross Internacional de Atapuerca

Ethiopia’s Imane Merga and Hiwot Ayalew both retained their titles at the Cross Internacional de Atapuerca on Sunday.

Battling wet and windy conditions, Merga just held off Kenya’s Emmanuel Bett and Teklemariam Medhin of Eritrea, clocking 28:59 ahead of Bett and Medhin’s respective 29:00 and 29:01.

Ayalew had a more comfortable victory, crossing the line in 26:11 ahead of Kenyas’s Linet Masai 26.20. Masai’s compatriot Mercy Cherono was third with 26:25 in a race that saw Britain’s Julia Bleasdale continue her comeback from injury to clock 27:50 for 21st.

» Click here for results

Irish Cross Country Championships

There was a comfortable win for Fionnuala Britton in the women’s senior race at the Irish Cross Country Championships on Sunday while Paul Pollock, better known for his efforts in the marathon, won the men’s event.

Both will now compete at the European Cross Country Championships in Belgrade, where Britton will be looking to secure her third consecutive senior title.

With 26:05, Britton finished just over a minute clear of second-placed Sarah McCormack while Sara Treacy was third with 27:15. Pollock crossed the line in 31:02 for victory ahead of brothers Michael and Dan Mulhare who clocked 31:36 and 31:40 respectively. In claiming the minor places, the pair become the first brothers to both represent Ireland at the Euro Cross.

It was a successful day all round for the Mulhare family as Mary Mulhare won the women’s under-23 race in 28:54. Ryan McDermott won the men’s under-23 national title after clocking 32:18, the same as second-placed John Travers.

» Click here for results

Leave a Reply