Farah and Ohuruogu named on British team for European Championships

European champion Mo Farah could choose to defend his title in Helsinki, should he choose to keep his place on the team

Mo Farah (Mark Shearman)

A large British team has been announced for the European Championships, to be held in Helsinki from June 27 – July 1, although the 109 athletes will be whittled down following this weekend’s Olympic Trials.

For the first time ever, the European Championships will be held in the same year as the Olympics following its recent move to a two-year cycle instead of four years.

The calendar clash means that the national governing body has taken a more cautious approach to the European Championships.

Any track athlete at the Trials who gains guaranteed Olympic team selection will be deselected from the team for Helsinki – apart from the 5000m and 10,000m events, which are due to be straight finals at the European Championships.

Athletes in field events, however, will have the option of keeping or declining their place on the team for Helsinki.

That means the likes of world indoor bronze medallist Dwain Chambers and British 100m hurdles record-holder Tiffany Porter – who have both been named on the European Championships team – will find their names taken off the list should they achieve their goal this weekend of securing their place on the Olympic team.

Meanwhile, world 5000m champion Mo Farah and distance runner Jo Pavey could choose to keep their place on the team for the European Championships as their events will be straight finals.

Similarly, field eventers such as British discus record-holder Lawrence Okoye, world indoor high jump finalist Robbie Grabarz, and world indoor triple jump champion Yamile Aldama will have the option of competing at both the European Championships and Olympic Games.

Olympic champion Christine Ohuruogu will form part of a full-strength women’s 4x400m relay team, as the event will be used as a dress rehearsal for the Olympics.

Several athletes who are currently out of action or returning from injury – such as Lisa Dobriskey, Jenny Meadows and Jeanette Kwakye – have also been given a place on the European team.

The final team will be confirmed on June 25 after the conclusion of the Olympic Trials.

100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Dwain Chambers, James Dasaolu, Richard Kilty, Mark Lewis-Francis
200m: James Alaka, Chris Clarke, James Ellington, Christian Malcolm, Danny Talbot
400m: Richard Buck, Luke Lennon Ford, Nigel Levine, Rob Tobin, Conrad Williams
800m: Mukhtar Mohammed, Andrew Osagie, Michael Rimmer, Gareth Warburton
1500m: Andy Baddeley, James Brewer, Tom Lancashire, Ross Murray, James Shane
5000m: Mo Farah, Rory Fraser, Mitch Goose, Nick McCormick
10,000m: Keith Gerrard, James Walsh
3000m steeplechase: Luke Gunn, Rob Mullett, Stuart Stokes, James Wilkinson
110m hurdles: Richard Alleyne, Lawrence Clarke, Gianni Frankis, Andrew Pozzi, William Sharman
400m hurdles: Jack Green, Ben Sumner, Rhys Williams, Nathan Woodward, Rick Yates
High jump: Martyn Bernard, Robbie Grabarz, Samson Oni, Tom Parsons
Pole vault: Luke Cutts, Max Eaves, Andrew Sutcliffe
Long jump: JJ Jegede, Julian Reid, Chris Tomlinson
Triple jump: Larry Achike
Shot: Carl Myerscough
Discus: Abdul Buhari, Brett Morse, Carl Myerscough, Lawrence Okoye
Hammer: Mark Dry
Decathlon: Ashley Bryant
4x100m: Aikines Aryeetey, Chambers, Kilty, Tyrone Edgar, Ellington, Malcolm, Talbot
4x400m: Buck, Michael Bingham, Lennon Ford, Levine, Tobin, Williams

100m: Montell Douglas, Jeanette Kwakye, Ashleigh Nelson, Anyika Onuora, Abi Oyepitan
200m: Onuora, Oyepitan, Jodie Williams
400m: Shana Cox, Lee McConnell, Kelly Massey, Marilyn Okoro, Nicola Sanders
800m: Emma Jackson, Jenny Meadows, Okoro, Lynsey Sharp, Jemma Simpson
1500m: Lisa Dobriskey, Jemma Simpson, Charlene Thomas, Steph Twell, Laura Weightman
5000m: Julia Bleasdale, Helen Clitheroe, Twell
10,000m: Jo Pavey, Charlotte Purdue, Gemma Steel, Sarah Waldron
3000m steeplechase: Hatti Archer, Eilish McColgan
100m hurdles: Tiffany Porter
400m hurdles: Meghan Beesley
High jump: Isobel Pooley
Pole vault: Kate Dennison, Sally Peake
Long jump: Abigail Irozuru, Shara Proctor
Triple jump: Yamile Aldama
Shot: Eden Francis
Discus: Francis, Jade Nicholls
Hammer: Sophie Hitchon, Sarah Holt
Javelin: Goldie Sayers, Laura Whittingham
Heptathlon: Louise Hazel
4x100m: Douglas, Hayley Jones, Kwakye, Nelson, Onuora, Williams
4x400m: Eilidh Child, Cox, Massey, McConnell, Christine Ohuruogu, Sanders

3 Responses to “Farah and Ohuruogu named on British team for European Championships”

  1. Kevin O'Neill says:

    I can't see the sense of any Olympic contender wanting to do the Europeans too. It would surely leave the athlete drained of freshness, or worse. I see the event as for 'B' athletes or as compensation for those who didn't quite make it for the 'big one'. But then I never saw the sense in holding a European Champs in Olympic year anyway, one of the daftest decisions ever made, in my view.

    • runner says:

      But then I never saw the sense in holding a European Champs in Olympic year anyway, one of the daftest decisions ever made, in my view.

      TOTALLY TRUE, maybe IAAF has bigger visions than fans do :)

      • benjones says:

        its the EAA not IAAF that came up with this hair brain scheme…in order to make more money by having a european championships…it's a disgrace

Leave a Reply