England Athletics award winners to be revealed

Hall of fame inductees and national volunteer award winners to be named at a ceremony on October 19

Posted on October 17, 2013 by
Tagged with + + +
Volunteer Awards (Mark Shearman)

The latest wave of England Athletics hall of fame inductees and national volunteer award winners will be named at the Hilton Metropole at Birmingham’s NEC on Saturday October 19.

The volunteer awards, which are supported by Athletics Weekly, Sweatshop and the Amateur Athletic Association, include a variety of prizes involving clubs and individuals in 10 categories. The evening presentations also include the 2013 hall of fame inductions.

Launched in 2008, the hall of fame honours athletes who have made an outstanding contribution to the sport. Since then many great athletes and contributors to athletics have been inducted.

Athletes and contributors previously inducted into the England Athletics Hall of Fame include: Malcolm Arnold (2009), Sir Roger Bannister (2008), Chris Brasher (2008), Lord Burghley (2009), Linford Christie (2010), Lord Sebastian Coe (2008), Kathy Cook (2011), Steve Cram (2009), Dame Kelly Holmes (2010), Dorothy Hyman (2011), Steve Ovett (2008), Jean Pickering (2011), Ron Pickering (2009), Mary Rand (2009) and Daley Thompson (2008). For a more in-depth list of previous inductees see the October 17 issue of AW.

A hall of fame panel of experts meets in the run-up to each annual wave of inductions, but England Athletics also encourages athletes, coaches, officials and fans to vote and these have been registered over the past few months via the England Athletics website.

AW has already had a sneak peek at the 2013 hall of fame inductees, which includes former champions from a variety of generations and in events ranging from hurdles to distance running to race walking.

The national volunteer award contenders, meanwhile, have emerged following a series of regional awards earlier this year.

Leave a Reply