Cockroft, Farah and Ohuruogu on SPOTY shortlist

Athletics trio among the ten contenders for the BBC Sports Personality of the Year award

Cockroft, Farah, Ohuruogu SPOTY

Hannah Cockroft, Mo Farah and Christine Ohuruogu have been named on the ten-strong shortlist for the BBC Sports Personality of the Year award.

This year saw both Cockroft and Farah claim world championships doubles. Cockroft added T34 100m and 200m titles at the IPC World Championships in Lyon to the sprint double she claimed at London 2012, while Farah won 5000m and 10,000m titles at the IAAF World Championships in Moscow to back up his Olympic double from 12 months before.

Ohuruogu also stormed to victory in Moscow, the 2008 Olympic champion regaining the 400m world title thanks to a run that saw her break the long-standing UK record held by Kathy Cook.

The trio’s inclusion on the Sports Personality of the Year shortlist follows the naming of Farah and Ohuruogu as athletes of the year by the British Athletics Writers’ Association on Friday, while Cockroft joined Richard Whitehead in being named Paralympic athletes of the year.

Following the announcement of the shortlist, Cockroft took to Twitter to voice her thanks. ”Absolutely ecstatic to be on the #SPOTY shortlist!” she tweeted. “The ultimate award honour for an athlete. Thanks so much for the lovely comments and support!”

It was down to an expert panel including the likes of Tanni Grey-Thompson, Kelly Holmes and the chief executive of UK Sport Liz Nicholl to compile the shortlist, with the winner to be decided by public vote on the night of the awards on December 15.

Jessica Ennis-Hill finished runner-up at last year’s awards, while Usain Bolt was named the 2012 BBC Overseas Sports Personality of the Year. The overseas honour is one of seven other awards in addition to the main award, with Team of the Year, Coach of the Year, Young Sports Personality of the Year, Sports Personality of the Year Diamond Award, the Helen Rollason Award and Sports Unsung Hero also to be decided.

This year’s awards will be the 60th edition, with Seb Coe, Daley Thompson, Fatima Whitbread and Paula Radcliffe among the athletes to have claimed the top honour in the past. Holmes was the last from the world of athletics to win the award in 2004.

Leave a Reply