British Athletics Writers’ Association awards

Awards luncheon to take place in London on November 22

Posted on October 14, 2013 by
Tagged with + +
Jessica Ennis Mo Farah (Mark Shearman)

The awards luncheon of the British Athletics Writers’ Association (BAWA) takes place in London on Friday November 22 at the Tower Hotel in central London.

The 51st edition of the awards, which is supported by the London Marathon, includes senior and junior athletes of the year, outstanding Paralympian, plus the Ron Pickering award for services to athletics.

Last year’s awards saw Mo Farah and Jessica Ennis named athletes of the year. It was the third year in succession that these two athletes had picked up British athletics’ top prize, with both having been named athletes of the year four times in total by the sport’s writers.

Other previous winners of the top prize include Maurice Herriott and Dorothy Hyman at the first awards in 1963, Steve Ovett, Daley Thompson, Seb Coe, Kathy Smallwood, Sally Gunnell, Denise Lewis and Paula Radcliffe. For a full list of previous senior athlete of the year winners see

Anyone interested in attending the 2013 awards luncheon should email AW editor and BAWA secretary Jason Henderson at jason.

» For more information on the BAWA click here

Leave a Reply