Britain’s sports journalists name Ennis Sportswoman of the Year

Jessica Ennis, David Weir, Jonnie Peacock and Sebastian Coe receive SJA awards

Posted on December 7, 2012 by
Tagged with + + + +
Jessica Ennis (Mark Shearman)

Jessica Ennis received the Sportswoman of the Year award for the third time in four years yesterday at the SJA British Sports Awards.

The Awards, which celebrated one of the busiest ever years for Britain’s sports journalists, saw the Olympic heptathlon champion poll two-thirds of the votes cast to hold off double sculls gold medallist Katherine Grainger and double Olympic gold medal cyclist Laura Trott.

Ennis also picked up the Pat Besford Trophy for the outstanding performance of the year. Tweeting afterwards, she said: “What an brilliant afternoon at the #SJA Awards. Cannot believe I won two awards! Such an honour in such an amazing year! Thank you.”

First staged in 1949, the SJA awards are the country’s longest-running sports awards with votes coming from a membership of more than 750 sports writers, broadcasters, photographers and editors.

The Disabled Sports Personality of the Year award was added in 1963, and in recognition of the huge success of the London 2012 Paralympics two awards were made this year with David Weir taking the men’s prize and cyclist Sarah Storey the women’s.

Weir’s impressive tally of four golds in London, in the 800, 1,500, 5,000 and marathon, saw him secure the honour for the second time, having first won it in 2006.

The JL Manning Award for an Outstanding Contribution to Sport was presented to Lord Coe, chairman of the London Olympic and Paralympic organising committee, while Jonnie Peacock picked up the Spirit of Sport award.

Full 2012 SJA Roll of Honour
Sportsman of the Year: Bradley Wiggins (Cycling)
Sportswoman of the Year: Jessica Ennis (Athletics)
Sports Team of the Year: Europe Ryder Cup (Golf)
Paralympic sport (men): David Weir (Wheelchair Athletics)
Paralympic sport (women): Sarah Storey (Cycling)
Best International Newcomer: Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Football)
Outstanding Performance: Jessica Ennis (Athletics)
Outstanding Contribution to Sport: Lord Coe
Spirit of Sport: Jonnie Peacock (Paralympian)
President’s Award: Katherine Grainger and Anna Watkins (Rowing)
Chairman’s Award: Jonny Marray (Tennis)

One Response to “Britain’s sports journalists name Ennis Sportswoman of the Year”

  1. JAGS says:

    | would never have thought that even Jess' magnificent win at the Games would be considered more outstanding than Bradley Wiggins historic Tour de France victory. I am surprised but she's also my favourite British sportstar and her performance was my own particular favourite as I got so much more from it. So I'm more than well chuffed for her!

Leave a Reply