AW readers to choose icon for history display

UKA invite readers of AW to suggest final athlete to be included in gallery of mobile museum of athletics memorabilia

Posted on July 11, 2013 by
Tagged with + + + +

Fans at the Sainsbury’s Grand Prix in Birmingham will have seen the impressive mobile museum of athletics memorabilia which included a 1948 Olympic torch, Seb Coe’s 1980 Olympic gold medal and a variety of vintage shoes, singlets, programmes, posters and publications such as Athletics Weekly.

Among the display there were framed photographs – the majority of which were taken by AW photographer Mark Shearman – of 40 athletics icons. This list of legends is set to grow, however, when a further nine names are added for a similar but larger exhibition at the Sainsbury’s Anniversary Games on July 26-28.

Organisers UKA need one more name and have invited readers of AW to suggest the 50th athlete to be included in the gallery.

Here are the athletes who appeared in the original gallery (in alphabetical order): Ann Packer, Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson, Bob Matthews, Caroline Innes, Christine Ohuruogu, Colin Jackson, Dai Greene, Daley Thompson, Dame Kelly Holmes, Dame Mary Peters, Dan Greaves, Danny Crates, David Hemery, David Holding, David Weir, Denise Lewis, Dorothy Tyler, Eric Liddell, Greg Rutherford, Harold Abrahams, Jessica Ennis, Jonathan Edwards, Jonnie Peacock, Kenny Churchill, Linford Christie, Lynn Davies, Mary Rand, Mo Farah, Noel Thatcher, Paula Radcliffe, Richard Whitehead, Sally Gunnell, Seb Coe, Sir Roger Bannister, Stephen Miller, Steve Backley, Steve Cram, Steve Ovett, Tessa Sanderson, Tracey Hinton.

The following will be added when the exhibition hits the Olympic Stadium this month: Allan Wells, David Bedford, Fatima Whitbread, Iwan Thomas, John Regis, Kriss Akabusi, Lillian Board, Liz McColgan and Roger Black.

Who would you add? Here are some ideas: Alan Pascoe, Ashia Hansen, Darren Campbell, Derek Ibbotson, Helen Clitheroe, Ian Stewart, Jason Gardener, John Whetton, Ken Matthews, Phillips Idowu, Robbie Grabarz, Ron Hill, Tom McKean, Yvonne Murray.

If you want to lodge your opinion, fill in the form below and let us know who you would like to see included in the gallery. You need to be a registered user of the site to access the form (it’s free to register and takes just a few seconds – register here).

The deadline for votes is Monday July 22 and the result will be published in AW on the eve of the Sainsbury’s Anniversary Games.

Voting has now closed.

Leave a Reply