Asher-Smith, Judd and Towers on Young SPOTY shortlist

Athletics trio among the 10 contenders for the BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year award

Jess Judd Moscow 2013 (Mark Shearman)

Dina Asher-Smith, Jessica Judd and Isaac Towers have been included on the shortlist for the BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year award.

This follows the news that Hannah Cockroft, Mo Farah and Christine Ohuruogu are among the 10 contenders for the main BBC Sports Personality of the Year honour.

At just 17 years of age, Asher-Smith was the youngest athlete selected for Great Britain at the IAAF World Championships in Moscow. Running in the 4x100m relay she won bronze alongside team mates Ashleigh Nelson, Annabelle Lewis and Hayley Jones, the quartet having been promoted to a medal following the disqualification of the French team for an illegal handover.

The Blackheath & Bromley sprinter also won two gold medals at the European Junior Championships in Rieti, claiming 200m victory before breaking the UK junior 4x100m record with Yasmin Miller, Steffi Wilson and Desiree Henry.

Judd, meanwhile, won the 800m at the European Team Championships in Gateshead before going on to break the two-minute barrier for the first time in Birmingham.

At 18 she became the youngest athlete to have ever represented Great Britain in the two-lap event at the World Championships.

In 2013 15-year-old wheelchair racer Towers secured victory in his age-group at the Virgin Money Giving Mini London Marathon and followed that up with second and third in the 800m and 1500m respectively at the Swiss National Championships.

In June, he won the 400m and 800m at the England Athletics Senior/U20 Combined Events before breaking the senior European 1500m record. Towers has also broken every national T34 age group record from 100m to 5000m.

The BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year award is for athletes aged 17 or under on January 1, 2013, with the shortlist having been compiled following nominations made to the BBC by sports governing bodies via the Youth Sport Trust.

The top three will be announced live on Blue Peter on December 12, with the winner announced live at BBC Sports Personality of the Year awards which take place in Leeds on December 15.

Sprinters Harry Aikines-Aryeetey and Amy Spencer are among the athletes to have claimed the Young Sports Personality of the Year honour in the past, with Spencer having claimed the inaugural award in 2001.

Leave a Reply